HOW TO RESET A HP 48G



#2

Hi,I have a HP 48G with an "invalid card data" message.How can I reset it to get rid of the warning,it shows everytime I turn it on.Thanks


#3

Hi, Jorge;

you can try resetting the calculator:

press [ON] and hold it;
press [C] and release it;
release [ON].
The calcualtor resets to a known condition. It is not supposed to clear memory contents. If it does not work, a hardware reset is available by carefuly removing (and placing in a safe place) the upper-right rubber feet, facing the back of the calculator, and gently inserting the tip of an unfolded paper clip in the small hole you'll find in the rubber-feet recess. As you feel the paper clip tip cannot go any further, it means you succeeded closing the reset contact in the mainboard. Hold the paper clip for a few seconds (three?), remove it and turn the calculator on again. If you still see the message, chances are you have some library installed in the calculator that is searching for some resource in a card. If yours is an HP48G (and not a GX), I see no way to originate this sort of message from an actual invalid data card, only from a program or library.

If neither of the procedures below succeed, I`d suggest trying a memory clear procedure:

press simultaneously [ON], [A] and [F];
release each of them in the opposed order;
you'll see the message:
______________________
| CLEAR ALL MEMORY? |
| |
| |
|YES______________NO |

if you decide for [NO], all memory is cleared.

If you want to keep current data and do not want to clear all memory contents, then wait for some other suggestions. I`d actualy like to know what else to do, too! q8^)

Success!

Luiz (Brazil)


#4

Thanks Luis and Howard for your help.I reset it,but the warning still shows when I turn it on.It is not a GX.

#5

If you really have a GX instead of a G, perhaps you also have a RAM card that isn't initialized?

If you dont mind losing the contents of your port RAM (not user memory,) a less drastic thing to try is left-shift 2 (Library), NXT, PINIT, That will initialize all the port RAM found in slot one and/or two. Then try turning the calc off, then on and see what you get.


Edited: 21 Aug 2005, 2:42 a.m.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP Prime reset to factory state? BruceH 3 349 11-26-2013, 07:27 PM
Last Post: BruceH
  HP Prime - Reset methods bluesun08 3 246 11-21-2013, 09:49 AM
Last Post: Joe Horn
  HP PRIME: How to change the column headers and reset data Joseph Ec 5 297 10-18-2013, 02:26 PM
Last Post: Joseph Ec
  Explaination on How to Reset Caculator in Users guie: error Harold A Climer 5 289 10-15-2013, 02:11 AM
Last Post: cyrille de Brébisson
  RESET App from a program. Joseph Ec 0 106 10-14-2013, 12:28 PM
Last Post: Joseph Ec
  HP Prime reset to factory settings bertopl 16 567 09-28-2013, 03:53 AM
Last Post: bertopl
  HP Prime -- app reset bug Han 0 116 09-26-2013, 01:54 PM
Last Post: Han
  Riemann's Zeta Function update (HP-28S, HP-48G/GX/G+, HP-49G/G+/50g) Gerson W. Barbosa 0 126 06-30-2013, 01:01 AM
Last Post: Gerson W. Barbosa
  OT: DIFFERENTIAL EQUATIONS using the HP-48G/GX Ivan Rancati 2 185 06-04-2013, 04:11 AM
Last Post: Frank Boehm (Germany)
  Able to set HP 48G axis tick marks at integers? Randal B 1 138 01-24-2013, 12:40 AM
Last Post: Chris Dreher

Forum Jump: