HP41 Short form exponent question



#2

Hope this isnt' a stupid question, but here goes.

I'm looking for the easiest/quickest way to enter E3 rather than 1 E3 into a program.

I have available/plugged-in the CCD-OSX rom and the Sandbox rom.

It appears I can't use the extended XEQ function of CCD to enter it into a program (or run mode for that matter). Pressing XEQ ENTER (to put the _ _ _ : _ _ _ prompts in the display) followed by 027 019 places a 1 in a program when the bytes should be E 3. Am I doing something wrong?


#3

Gene,

The pseudo-synthetic form for entering 1000 in a program line is [EEX] [3] from the keyboard. As long as it is a power of 10 with an assumed 1 in the mantissa you do not have to put the leading 1 as part of your entry. The 41C will assume that is what you are doing. The display will show the program line as 1E3, but in the print out it should show just E3. Hope this helps.


#4

I know that using LB of the PPC Rom to Load 027 019 will give a synthetic program line of E3, without the leading 1 as in 1 E3.

I'm looking for a way to key that in directly using the extended XEQ of the CCD rom.

Appears as if that doesn't work.

When I press XEQ ENTER and then type in 027 019 in the prompts, I get an "E" by itself on a line and then text garbage in the next program line.

I read Mike's comment about using the Zenrom to do this, but it would be nice if I didn't have to use an entire 4K of the NoVRAM module just to get the short-form exponent entry capability.

Gene


#5

You only need the ZEN-ROM for entering the short form. The short form En and Emn (instead of 1En or 1Emn) will do w/o the ZEN-ROM.

An other - antiquated - way is using the "byte graber". But it still works. Alas I do not know by heart how to get it assigned to a key, was something using the CAT bug to change a one byte key assignment to Alpha-7...(?) -- Who remembers better?

Ciao.....Mike

#6

From memory, the Byte Grabber (BG) was 247,063. You do the following:

- ussing the CCD's ASN, assign such codes to any key

- input "1 E3" as usual

- back up one step, (pack if needed)

- press once the BG (or twice if you didn't pack)


et voila!

#7

...the easiest/quickest way to enter E3 rather than 1 E3 into a program...

is i) switch off the calculator, ii) push the ZEN-ROM in a free port, iii) switch on the calculator and just do it. ZEN-ROM nullifies the 1 before the E

Ciao.....Mike

#8

Hi gene,

Please pardon my ignorance of hp41c minutae, but, what is the reason for this? Cannot possibly be for the mere sake of saving keystrokes? There must be some other reason?

Best regards,

Bill


#9

Hey, you know us HP programmers. :-)

Placing E3 in a program instead of the usual 1 E3

a) Saves a byte
b) executes faster
c) is cool.

Gene


#10

LOL!!! Good answer, as all is said. Hard to decide what's the main reason a) or c) <VBG>

Nice WE.....Mike


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP Prime - Short "learning" modules CR Haeger 1 920 11-27-2013, 02:13 PM
Last Post: Jonathan Cameron
  I have written a short introduction to the HP Prime Michael Carey 7 1,895 11-18-2013, 08:04 PM
Last Post: Michael Carey
  [HP Prime] Using n-root symbol and exponent problem uklo 7 1,996 11-11-2013, 01:39 AM
Last Post: Alberto Candel
  HP-80 CHS Exponent Curiosity Max Stone 4 1,320 10-22-2013, 02:39 PM
Last Post: Max Stone
  HP-65 short circuit Ignacio Sánchez 2 1,059 10-22-2013, 08:27 AM
Last Post: Ignacio Sánchez Reig
  WP-34S: # constant in exponent Marcel Samek 3 820 07-06-2013, 08:33 PM
Last Post: Paul Dale
  FRAM71 for HP-71B, short update #3 Hans Brueggemann 15 2,650 01-20-2013, 10:22 AM
Last Post: Jerry Raia
  RPL long vs. short names peacecalc 5 1,410 10-30-2012, 01:25 PM
Last Post: peacecalc
  wp 34s exponent limits? wildpig 26 4,195 08-28-2012, 02:48 PM
Last Post: Marcus von Cube, Germany
  FRAM71 for HP-71B, short update #2 Hans Brueggemann 9 1,919 07-03-2012, 03:43 PM
Last Post: Guenter Schink

Forum Jump: