Problem with 49G+ update



#9

Well, I downloaded the updater, ran the program, and copied the two files to an SD card.

But when I try to update the calc, it tells me:

NO CARD, OR ERROR
CHECK CARD
THEN PRESS ANY KEY

But the card's there-- I can see files on it from the standard calc screens. It passes the calc's "card test". And the files are on the card (which I can verify with the Filer).

The only out of the ordinary thing is that when I ran the installer on my PC, it said there was a problem executing "conn4.exe". But the files appear to be OK.

Any ideas?


#10

One problem I ran into on my first 49G+ update was that the SD card was not formatted correctly. It _must_ use the FAT16 format.

-Ernie


#11

http://www.hp.com/calculators/graphing/49gplus/technical.html

It is the second one on the list.

The document contains a section about formatting the card.

MUST be done in a DOS window using the command in the doc.

Cheers...and thanks again for all the TI scanning!
Gene


#12

Thanks for the suggestions, but no joy. Oddly my 49 is missing the option to format the card from the system menu. Still, I formatted it under DOS as described in the document Gene mentioned, copied the file to it, and the results were the same.

Again, the 49 can "see" the card just fine. I can see the two files (and even look inside the "Update.scp" file (which contains the name of the actual update file).

It's a mystery...


#13

David,

Did you check if the card is locked? There is a small lock latch. Make sure it is NOT set to lock mode.

Namir


#14

No, it's not locked...but why should that matter?

Actually, could someone e-mail me their copies of the update files HP49G123.BIN and UPDATE.SCP?

#15

But Gene, with the version of DOS that came with my MS Windows 98SE
system, FORMAT complains about invalid switches for the /FS:FAT and
/A:8192. Perhaps these are for the Windows NT series or new with XP?

MS Windows 98SE formats my card just fine.

Also, I'm guessing that the /A:8192 is supposed to set the cluster size.
That may be a good size with larger cards, but with my 128MB card, I use
a cluster size of 2048. A larger cluster size would give me fewer
clusters, and since I expect most of the files that I store on the card
won't use even a full 2KB cluster, it would reduce the number of files
that I could store on it.

Regards,
James

Edited: 21 Feb 2004, 2:13 a.m.


#16

Well, I think the /A:8192 is optional, so that can be dropped. (The doc says it's optional, doesn't it?)

I tested using WinXP. Silly me...one would think that DOS has been DOS for quite some time. :-)

Gene


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Riemann's Zeta Function update (HP-28S, HP-48G/GX/G+, HP-49G/G+/50g) Gerson W. Barbosa 0 354 06-30-2013, 01:01 AM
Last Post: Gerson W. Barbosa
  HP 49g+ unit conversion problem T.M. Baxter 10 843 10-03-2009, 02:35 AM
Last Post: Mike Morrow
  Re: Porting 49G Programs to 49G+/50G Les Wright 0 287 02-21-2007, 10:16 AM
Last Post: Les Wright
  Porting 49G Programs to 49G+/50G Les Wright 6 753 02-20-2007, 06:27 PM
Last Post: Tim Wessman
  HP-49g+ ROM update issues Antonio Maschio (Italy) 6 768 09-18-2006, 11:32 AM
Last Post: James M. Prange (Michigan)
  HP49G+ Rom update problem Travallee 1 257 04-23-2006, 01:53 PM
Last Post: Eddie Shore
  TI-57 Emulator for HP-48S/SX/G/G+/GX, HP-49G and HP-49G+ is finished HrastProgrammer 9 927 01-17-2006, 12:57 AM
Last Post: HrastProgrammer
  49G+ ROM Update Horror Story Namir 10 802 06-23-2005, 02:08 AM
Last Post: alar
  Update: Broken 49G+ keyboard Eddie Shore 9 780 06-11-2005, 10:59 AM
Last Post: Eddie Shore
  49G+ ROM update posted sjthomas 26 1,893 05-09-2005, 03:02 PM
Last Post: Hans-Erik Lehndal

Forum Jump: