Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM



#3

There is a problem with the following code fragment:
<<
"Titel"
{
{ "Item 1 " "" 0. }
{ "Item 2 " "" 0. }
{ "Item 3 " "" 0. }
} { } DUP IVal "SVal1" "SVal2" 3. \->LIST INFORM
\>>

Althought the code doesn't produce an error message, the strings SVal1 and SVal2 are displayed in quotes as shown here:
Item 2 "SValue1"
Item 3 "SValue2"

Does somebody know how to avoid the quotes ? Any hint will be very much appriciated - thank you very much in advance.


#4

Posted by Karl-Ludwig Butte on 28 Dec 2003, 4:45 a.m.

There is a problem with the following code fragment: << "Titel" { { "Item 1 " "" 0. } { "Item 2 " "" 0. } { "Item 3 " "" 0. } } { } DUP IVal "SVal1" "SVal2" 3. \->LIST INFORM \>>

Althought the code doesn't produce an error message, the strings SVal1 and SVal2 are displayed in quotes as shown here: Item 2 "SValue1" Item 3 "SValue2"

Does somebody know how to avoid the quotes ? Any hint will be very much appriciated - thank you very much in advance.

=========================================

Well - don't put them on quotas! What are you trying to do here? You may use STR-> to evaluate "SValn" or you may use the names in single quotas 'SValn'. [VPN]


#5

Thank you very much for your response. Alas simply throwing away the quotes or using single quotes doesn't work (syntax error). These string variables really contain strings which I want to display. The program calculates the date for Easter-Sunday e.g. 11.04.2004 (German date format DD.MM.YYYY). So after the calculation I'm converting DD, MM and YYYY to strings and put them together with the dots (or slashes if American dateformat is selected). In another application I need to display a person's name so STR-> isn't an alternative.


#6

"Thank you very much for your response. Alas simply throwing away the quotes or using single quotes doesn't work (syntax error). These string variables really contain strings which I want to display."

How about first recalling the strings from the variables in the stack (simply use unquoted names) and then assembling the list together via n ->LIST [VPN]


#7

Hello,

I tried that out but the quotes are still there. I even tried to convert the string to a GROB but there's always a description (e.g. Graphic 24x8) in front of the converted text which is displayed in INFORM, too. I wonder how HP is displaying e.g. RPN in the MODE-menue without the qoutes.


#8

Hi,

>>I wonder how HP is displaying e.g. RPN in the MODE-menue without the qoutes
>>

Maybe they use a message handler to cut away the quotes for display only. Message handlers are only available from SysRPL.

My suggestion: If you're using a 49G, use Steen Schmidt's Input Form Maker, if you're using a real HP-48, use my Input Form Builder. Both programs are available on hpcalc.org ,
and both are the easiest to use progs of their kind for their platform.

Regards,

Raymond


#9

Thanks a lot Raymond for your response and hint. I'm going to try it out. I'm using a 48G, 49G and 49G+. I'll come back to you wit the results.

Regards

Karl


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP 50g - displaying result in engineering format Sean Freeman 10 906 11-24-2013, 05:44 AM
Last Post: C.Ret
  HP Prime and Strings Han 6 526 09-20-2013, 10:18 AM
Last Post: Han
  [OT?]Orthography corrector needed. Diego Diaz 8 670 06-22-2013, 04:31 PM
Last Post: Andrew Nikitin
  Strings inside matrix editor on 50g Chris Smith 3 366 05-22-2013, 04:04 PM
Last Post: Chris Smith
  Fun things found by running strings on the 39gII emulator bhtooefr 11 918 05-16-2013, 12:40 AM
Last Post: Mic
  WP34s displaying text Steve B (Canada) 3 392 04-16-2013, 04:32 PM
Last Post: Walter B
  HP-50g How to store many equations - help needed Timo Labrenz 5 550 03-03-2013, 12:22 PM
Last Post: Timo Labrenz
  HP 39gii Help Wanted: Inputting Strings in a Program Eddie W. Shore 0 196 02-09-2013, 02:17 PM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  Disaster: help for a couple of HP97 needed! Jose Gonzalez Divasson 10 782 01-21-2013, 04:45 PM
Last Post: aurelio
  HP41 emulator for HP48sx - keyboard overlay needed Doug (NYC) 3 404 12-31-2012, 03:11 PM
Last Post: Allen

Forum Jump: