Eurocharger specs



#3

Hi all,
the hpil boxes (rs232, video) started to arrive here, but I don't have any ac adapter / charger.

I tried to bid about them, but prices were always higher than my bids.

What kind of juice (voltage, polarity, VA)do I need to provide them?
TIA,

Giuseppe Marullo


#4

Hi Giuseppe,

This is a somewhat "recurrent" topic. Anyhow it's quite simpler to write the specs than looking for a previous post to address you to.

So called "Eurochargers" (82066B) are nothing but a simple transformer. According with Europe mains supply they are 220v AC on the primary side, while 8v also AC, of course, on the secondary, rated 3VA (Volt Amperes). This could be "translated" into 375mA approx.

These secondary values are not very common, but as far as you don't go too far below or above the specs the whole thing will work fine.

A 9v 300mA (quite easier to find) is a nice substitution trafo. I've got two of'em and no troubles in more than one year of use (should I knock on wood? :-)

Regards from the Canary Islands.


#5

Diego,
thanks for your answer. I have just received from down under my first HP-IL device to play with (serial), this evening I will try to power it up using a DC power supply.
Thanks,

Giuseppe Marullo

P.S I have grabbed a spare memory module, what about a CLONIX injection?


#6

Hi,

If you are planning to power your "new toy" with DC current, please take into account that figures substantially differ from AC supply:

Namely, the 8v AC from the original Eurocharger, are to become some 12v DC approx. keeping in mind that most commercial Wall Warts generate a voltage several volts above rated specs.

That said, and provided you regard this issue there's nothing wrong in feeding you RS-232 box with a (De-Ce-nt) DC supply.

Regarding the Clonix, the first ones will be for sale in a pair of weeks, hope you can wait until then... :-)

Cheers.


#7

Diego,
I powered it up at about 10V, and it works.
The power led glows, and if I issue a reset the T/R led blink for about 2 secs then goes off.

I tried some quick example to test if it is able to transmit something, and it blinks when it should be.

Only concern is power consumption and smell.
There is a transformer inside (I don't know why, I should suppose it is used to regenerate the rs232 voltages), that is getting too hot. I tried to lower the DC level until the interface is not able to succesfully initialize (about 5V), but it is still way too warm. There is a smell of old thing powered up after being stored *many years*.
I don't have a multimeter I could trust about current reading, but it is in the .9A consumption range, too much I think.

Maybe this one is the only one interface that does not "support" the dc trick.

Tomorrow I will try to get a transformer with 8V AC output.

P.S: the power supply I am using actually is rated 30A peak, it deserves caution.


#8

Please, DO NOT try to feed your RS-232 box with DC again!!

I'm terribly sorry for that, it was my fault, I must have checked it twice before answering. I beg your pardon.

This is the ONLY 8v AC feeded HP-IL box that MUST use AC current.

I only hope your "nose" was fine enough to stop it all before causing any damage to the innards.

Anyhow, if this was the case, I'll do my best to fix it if you send me the box. (No charge, of course!)

Anagin my apologise and my best wishes.

Diego


#9

Diego,
do not wory, I took the risk. I think that nothing irreversible has been done, but actually I don't have a 8v transformer handy to double check.
I checked the voltage at wich I were using it, it was not higher than 5V, and the logic was still working.
I did discover the problem almost immidiately, the case was open and the transformer was the only thing that was running hot. No magic smoke yet.

The worst case could be that I've lost the transformer, but I should have a second interface coming, I could easily compare voltages and eventually fix it.

Where I could find the latest version of your CLONIX doc?


#10

Hi Giuseppe,

Hope your trafo is still alive...

Regarding Clonix-41 info, please mail me and I'll gladly address you.

Cheers.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP-15C LE box specs for SC please! Juergen Rodenkirchen 5 425 09-12-2011, 11:16 PM
Last Post: Michael de Estrada
  Need technical specs for HP 17b calculator display Ken H 4 389 08-22-2011, 11:07 PM
Last Post: Ken H
  82240 Printer Specs Joe Avins 2 248 04-07-2007, 04:17 PM
Last Post: Joe
  MLDL2000 new specs and manual Meindert Kuipers 4 368 02-04-2005, 04:58 AM
Last Post: Diego Diaz
  Tracking the Specs On an Older 12C Kane Brolin 0 167 12-31-2003, 11:10 PM
Last Post: Kane Brolin
  Saturn Specs Vieira, Luiz C. (Brazil) 11 660 12-18-2002, 08:22 PM
Last Post: Vieira, Luiz C. (Brazil)
  Any specs on HP's "StudyPro" laptops? Gene 0 150 05-24-2001, 12:19 PM
Last Post: Gene

Forum Jump: