48GX stack too big?



#5

I don't have the manual handy, so this may have a trivial solution.

I noticed my 48GX seemed to be slowing down as I used it. At some point it dawned on me that the stack had hundreds of numbers on it. I'm guessing that the internal bookkeeping to pop the stack each time I enter something is slowing down the whole machine. When I cleaned out the stack by deleting one value at a time (lots of back-arrow key presses!), it seems "better."

Is this normal? Is there a single "empty the stack" command? Is there anything I should be doing as I calculate to keep the stack at a reasonable size?

I agree with some other comments that a stack bigger than 4 or 5 is unnecessary. Can I put it in a limited stack mode?


#6

L-shift DEL wipes the entire stack. I usually do that when I pick one up and start to use it.

AFAIK you can't limit the stack. Might be some way in ML.

Of course you could always get the 42S emulator...


#7

If you'd limit the stack size, the consequences for the calculator would be fatal. The stack you see in the display is *the* RPL system data stack, used troughout the machine by all RPL routines, internal and user made. If you'd limit its size to e.g. 4, like it has been suggested many times, you couldn't even add 1 to (2x-y) anymore, because internally, symbolics are taken apart ("exploded") into meta-objects and then reassembled. Thus, everything in the HP 18/28/48/49 depends on an infinite stack. It's an essential part of the RPL system.

Just hit CLEAR (CLR on the 48SX) or the DEL key once in a while, or whenever you're done with some calculation, and you'll be fine. Alternatively, you could install HPSauce which always displays the stack depth in the status line... ;-)

Cheers, Victor

#8

Hi Dave,

just hit "DEL" once in a while. That will clear the stack.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP 50g - select characters on the stack, copy/paste Sean Freeman 7 434 11-20-2013, 07:11 AM
Last Post: Sean Freeman
  Prime: Placing more than 1 item on the RPN stack in a single program? John Colvin 4 304 11-19-2013, 08:59 AM
Last Post: Miguel Toro
  emu48 - copy stack doesn't work (as expected) Thomas Radtke 2 280 11-11-2013, 02:19 PM
Last Post: Thomas Radtke
  OT--Found!!! An HP reference on 'The Big Bang Theory' Matt Agajanian 0 137 11-08-2013, 10:23 PM
Last Post: Matt Agajanian
  HP Prime Stack operations from within a program John Colvin 1 176 11-08-2013, 09:45 PM
Last Post: Helge Gabert
  Prime: Anyway to refresh stack? kris223 5 296 10-16-2013, 05:09 PM
Last Post: kris223
  hp prime - sending program results to the stack giancarlo 6 345 10-15-2013, 02:00 AM
Last Post: Giancarlo
  HP Prime - RPN stack access from programs? Mike Mander (Canada) 10 393 09-30-2013, 11:20 AM
Last Post: steindid
  OT--'The Big Bang Theory' and RPN/HP--Any connections? Matt Agajanian 19 719 09-05-2013, 08:27 AM
Last Post: Adrien Bertrand
  WP-34S: Stack after divide by 0 Marcel Samek 4 215 08-24-2013, 11:57 PM
Last Post: Paul Dale

Forum Jump: