HP49G unit simplification



#2

Hi,

Just a query about why the HP49G does not automatically simplify units. e.g. if you multiply 'amps' by 'ohms' the units come out as 'Amps*Ohms' and not 'Volts'. (I'd guess J/s will not come out as Watts either.)

My Casio FX580 (bought in my pre HP days) does simplify units and gives 'Volts' in the above example.

You can of course convert units but this assumes you can spot what they are equvalent to, if you get it wrong you get the: "BEEP, you screwed up you feeble human who is no match for my superior operating system, however I'm not going to tell you how to do it correctly and it probably isn't in the manual that came with this calculator anyway." message.

Sorry if I'm missing a flag setting or something.

PS: Still using my second hand HP67 bought for $15! (No I can't get any more at this price.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Unit circle on HP Prime Mic 2 536 08-28-2013, 05:22 PM
Last Post: Thomas Klemm
  [HP-Prime CAS] Automatic Simplification (Direct Answer) CompSystems 6 863 07-26-2013, 07:20 PM
Last Post: Gilles Carpentier
  Unit conversions inside programs on 50g Chris Smith 2 571 02-23-2013, 05:35 AM
Last Post: Chris Smith
  WP 34S: Simplification to the Assembler Marcus von Cube, Germany 2 517 05-06-2012, 02:41 AM
Last Post: Marcus von Cube, Germany
  17bii unit conversions Dave Britten 12 1,417 03-27-2012, 11:59 AM
Last Post: Dave Britten
  Re: Voyager 1xC emulation in the same unit? uhmgawa 4 749 01-24-2012, 01:09 AM
Last Post: uhmgawa
  Wp34s unit conversions Cristian Arezzini 4 661 07-25-2011, 05:02 AM
Last Post: Paul Dale
  SpeedUI Bug with Unit Conversion? Timo 1 398 06-20-2011, 06:13 PM
Last Post: Raymond Del Tondo
  Preprogrammed EPROMs for HHE PE unit for the HP41CX Prabhu Bhooplapur 3 542 01-28-2011, 02:08 AM
Last Post: Geir Isene
  Unit conversion on the 50G Jim Creybohm 2 474 08-19-2010, 05:30 AM
Last Post: Vieira, Luiz C. (Brazil)

Forum Jump: