HP Prime print terminal



#2

I created a program which calculates elevations at intervals along a vertical curve. The data is returned using the print command. The data quite often scrolls off the top of the screen. According to the calculators help on print you should be able to arrow up and down through the data. This doesn't seem to work, I can push the data off the top of the screen using the touch screen but can't retrieve the data that scrolled off the the screen when the program ran. Am I expecting something that this is not intended for? I am used to RPN and using the stack for data storage. Any insight would be appreciated.


#3

hello,

in prime, you would place all your data in a list and return the list at the end. you can then look at the list in the list editor (either by program doing an editlist, or by forcing the list in L1 or something like that, or by returning it and letting the user do a L1:=myProg type command line).

note that if you do l(0):=value, value gets ADDED at the end of the list!

cyrille


#4

Thanks, that worked nicely. Now I'm trying to get my stationing to look like stationing. I'm just using real numbers now ie "3025.42", but I would like it to display like "30+25.42".

cat((format(IP((STA/100)),"f0","+",format((FP(STA/100))*100),"f2");

Where STA is a variable containing a real number. I tried just the IP and FP parts but wind up with four decimal places in the station format since my settings are fix 4. Ie "30.000+25.4200". I have had a hard time getting the format command to work. Works for "30+"then errors out. Thinking I need figure out how to change the number of decimals displayed during that line in the program and forget the format command.


#5

hello,

temporary change the display setting to normal
local t:= HFormat; HFormat:= 0;
local s:= string(IP(real/100))+"+"+string(real MOD 100);
HFormat:= t;

should work to get your "ab+cd.ef" in s...

cyrille


#6

Hi

I decided to abandon using interger part and fraction part and just deal with it as a string.

STA1()
BEGIN
STA:=STRING(xt); //xt is real number (station)
WHILE DIM(STA)<6 DO
STA:="0"+STA //adds a 0 in front, gives 0+25 instead of +25
END;

STA:=ROTATE(STA,-HDigits-3);

STA:=STA+"+";

STA:=ROTATE(STA,HDigits+3);

END;

everything works good except I still get odd output between
-0+99.99 and 0. Should be easy enough to fix. just need some time to think about it when I'm not worn to a frazzel. thanks again for your help.

Chad

Edited: 6 Dec 2013, 10:26 p.m.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [HP-PIRME] BUG Pretty Print, Solution: abs => |...|, ABS => ||...|| CompSystems 2 322 12-13-2013, 09:36 AM
Last Post: CompSystems
  Line Print Les Koller 6 416 11-11-2013, 09:38 AM
Last Post: Geoff Quickfall
  HP Prime Programming Tutorial #2: MSGBOX, IF-THEN-ELSE, PRINT, FOR Eddie W. Shore 0 191 10-26-2013, 03:51 PM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  [HP-Prime CAS] No pretty print (MathBook) CompSystems 2 203 08-22-2013, 04:07 PM
Last Post: CompSystems
  How do you print a 'data' file on the HP 71B to the HP 2225B thinkjet? Geoff Quickfall 3 278 08-18-2013, 04:32 PM
Last Post: Geoff Quickfall
  [HP Prime CAS] No Pretty Print (Text Book) CompSystems 1 184 08-17-2013, 12:41 PM
Last Post: CompSystems
  program print in wp34s Andrew Nikitin 13 512 07-22-2013, 10:11 PM
Last Post: Andrew Nikitin
  WP 34S Owner's Manual released for print Walter B 28 1,019 12-10-2012, 08:36 AM
Last Post: Walter B
  HP 49G print format - Solved Olivier De Smet 0 140 09-08-2012, 11:03 AM
Last Post: Olivier De Smet
  HP 67 Calculator Battery Terminal plus/minus Steve E. 6 272 04-30-2012, 03:29 PM
Last Post: Nick R

Forum Jump: