HP Prime: Program Editing



#8

I have some random remarks concerning on-device program editing:

  1. I'm missing a template for strings, i. e. a pair of double quotes. The double quote from the char menu returns a single ", at least in the program editor. The same char returns a template on the command line which is not editable: The trailing " cannot be deleted and deleting the first " removes the whole string from the command line. In the editor, " is just a simple character.

  2. The char menu could be more useful if it worked like a virtual keyboard, collecting a bunch of characters before submitting them all at once to the editor or command line.

  3. Shift+cursor should mark text, not only for copy and paste but for applying a template such as () to the marked text. Adding a pair of parentheses to an existing part of text is quite a nuisance because you have to insert () and delete the superfluous half.

  4. On the good side: With the calculator connected and the Connectivity Kit running, a program file on the device can be easily opened and modified with the PC keyboard. Ctrl+S saves the modified file directly on the calulator. That's well thought out.

Just add to the list so HP can harvest our ideas!


#9

Quote:
I have some random remarks concerning on-device program editing:

  1. I'm missing a template for strings, i. e. a pair of double quotes. The double quote from the char menu returns a single ", at least in the program editor. The same char returns a template on the command line which is not editable: The trailing " cannot be deleted and deleting the first " removes the whole string from the command line. In the editor, " is just a simple character.

  2. The char menu could be more useful if it worked like a virtual keyboard, collecting a bunch of characters before submitting them all at once to the editor or command line.

  3. Shift+cursor should mark text, not only for copy and paste but for applying a template such as () to the marked text. Adding a pair of parentheses to an existing part of text is quite a nuisance because you have to insert () and delete the superfluous half.

  4. On the good side: With the calculator connected and the Connectivity Kit running, a program file on the device can be easily opened and modified with the PC keyboard. Ctrl+S saves the modified file directly on the calulator. That's well thought out.

Just add to the list so HP can harvest our ideas!


1. [Alpha] [0] gives two double quotes. It is currently not possible to delete just one of the two because of issues with textbook mode. When one of the two double quotes is removed, there is a difficult question of what the command line should do to reflect the changes.

Example: "b1/6A" ==> delete first " ==> should the command line redraw this as a fraction with b1 for the numerator and 6 (or 6A) as the denominator, and then the second " starts a new string? Or should it leave it as is because your intention was to, hypothetically speaking, do b+"1/6A" because b already contains a string? In this sort of case, it is nearly impossible to "guess" what the user intends so the redrawing of the command line in textbook mode gets really complicated.

2. Agreed. It should produce a secondary "command line" until you are "finished." This business of choosing only one character and then having to go back into the char catalogue is not very efficient.

3. I disagree. Shift cursor should move the cursor to the beginning or end of a line (for shift+left/right), or move to the start or end of line/page/entry (for shift+up/down). Pressing [()] followed by [Backspace] or [Shift][Backspace] has either less or the same number of key presses as [Shift][cursor][()].

4. Agreed! :-) Even coolor is that you can select the Content tab, do your editing there (so it's saved on the PC), and then right-click the program or app or note, and "Send All" will place a copy onto the calculator and/or emulator.


#10

Quote:
1. [Alpha] [0] gives two double quotes. It is currently not possible to delete just one of the two because of issues with textbook mode. When one of the two double quotes is removed, there is a difficult question of what the command line should do to reflect the changes.

Thanks for pointing me to Alpha+0. The color scheme prevented me from detecting it myself. I agree that in template mode it's hard to decide what to do if part of a template gets deleted. But in algebraic or RPN mode this shouldn't be an issue.

Quote:
3. I disagree. Shift cursor should move the cursor to the beginning or end of a line (for shift+left/right), or move to the start or end of line/page/entry (for shift+up/down). Pressing [()] followed by [Backspace] or [Shift][Backspace] has either less or the same number of key presses as [Shift][cursor][()].

Do we agree to disagree? Maybe Alpha+arrow can take the role you are proposing.

Quote:
4. Agreed! :-) Even cooler is that you can select the Content tab, do your editing there (so it's saved on the PC), and then right-click the program or app or note, and "Send All" will place a copy onto the calculator and/or emulator.

The problem with the Content tab is that you need a way to copy something from the calculator to the PC (and need to know the exact folder name) before it appears in the Content pane.

#11

>2.

That is the purpose of the ECHO menu key (just like it was on the 50g). :-)

TW


#12

Quote:
That is the purpose of the ECHO menu key

Thanks for another "life-long learning" experience.


#13

Quote:

Thanks for another "life-long learning" experience.


Hah! I'll join you on that =)

#14

I believe that you can also, in the chars table, double-tap each character in a string, then OK to send the complete string to the program editor. It would be nice to have a SHIFT soft key as to avoid the double-tapping.

Edited: 4 Nov 2013, 4:59 p.m.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Sending little images to the Prime (...and Program name bug?) Erwin Ried 19 1,564 12-10-2013, 05:35 PM
Last Post: Erwin Ried
  Problem with debug HP prime program, somebody help me? Carlos CM (Mexico) 6 755 12-05-2013, 03:07 PM
Last Post: Carlos CM (Mexico)
  HP PRIME: APP program code DISAPPEARS !! Joseph Ec 0 237 11-25-2013, 11:35 AM
Last Post: Joseph Ec
  HP Prime: editing a matrix Alberto Candel 6 540 11-20-2013, 06:26 PM
Last Post: Helge Gabert
  Prime: Placing more than 1 item on the RPN stack in a single program? John Colvin 4 531 11-19-2013, 08:59 AM
Last Post: Miguel Toro
  Prime: Program size limited to 64K? Erwin Ried 4 477 11-17-2013, 11:42 PM
Last Post: Joseph Ec
  [HP-Prime] Picking elements from a List in a program Jean-Michel 3 459 11-15-2013, 04:16 AM
Last Post: dg1969
  HP Prime: Recommendation for future RPN Program Mode BruceTTT 3 432 11-13-2013, 10:03 PM
Last Post: BruceTTT
  HP Prime: run a program in another program Davi Ribeiro de Oliveira 6 607 11-11-2013, 08:28 PM
Last Post: Davi Ribeiro de Oliveira
  [prime] Insert a breakpoint in a program for debugging ? Olivier Lecluse 3 395 11-09-2013, 09:41 PM
Last Post: Joseph Ec

Forum Jump: