what can I do with the connectivity kit?



#4

so I installed the HP connectivity kit (never used it before) that came with my Prime calculator. not sure what it's supposed to do. when I plug in the Prime with the USB cable, it shows it is charging but should it show up in the "calculator" window in the connectivity kit because it never appears there. when I launch the Prime emulator, it WILL show up in the "calculator" window. so what is this kit supposed to do? firmware upgrades? transferring programs? I wanted to put together some sheet metal calculation formulas and was hoping for a way to back stuff up using the connectivity kit. am I missing something? btw, the conn kit is installed on a microsoft surface tablet with win 8.


#5

Did you run into any issues with the installation? Try restarting your machine. I have experienced some issues with the calculator being detected and had to re-install the software. Restarting the computer has also worked on occasions.

As for what one can do with the connectivity kit:

1. Transfer programs to and from the calculator
2. Use the connectivity for software development.

This video may be of some use:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6ffNmUbUEI

#6

The bad news is that the Connectivity Kit's built-in help menu doesn't include a link to the 38-page "Connectivity Kit User Guide" PDF file.

The good news is that you already have that file, in the CK installation folder. In my 32-bit Win7 computer, the path to that file is:

"C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Connectivity Kit\HP_Connectivity_Kit_EN.pdf"

A tablet Win 8 path may be different, of course. Happy hunting!

Regarding your Prime not showing up on the CK screen: my first recommendation is to try another USB port, preferably not via a hub. Some folks have had bad luck flashing their firmware through a hub, but had no problems when connecting directly to the computer. Good luck!


#7

If you have it plugged in a USB 3.0 port, try plugging it into a USB 2.0 port. I have a problem on one of my computers where the calculator isn't recognized when it is plugged into the USB 3.0 port.

-Clayton


#8

thanks for the replies. I didn't run into anything unusual during the installation process, everything seemed to complete fine. unfortunately, the surface tablet only has one USB port and it is a 3.0. I may be SOL but thanks for the link to the video and docs. I'll play with it a little more but if the calc doesn't show up, it won't be of any use. :(


#9

Sometimes devices that won't work with a host USB 3.0 port will work if plugged into a USB 2.0 hub that is plugged into the USB 3.0 host port.


#10

Quote:
Sometimes devices that won't work with a host USB 3.0 port will work if plugged into a USB 2.0 hub that is plugged into the USB 3.0 host port.


I've kinda given up on it for now. tried restarting, uninstalling / reinstalling and the calc won't show up. don't have a 2.0 hub and probably won't get one for this calc. maybe they'll update it one of these days?

#11

Is it true that the Surface tablet has a funky version of Windows that calls itself "Windows 8" but is actually incompatible with almost all real Windows 8 software (and everything else that isn't explicitly written for the Surface)? If so, perhaps the Surface simply can't use the Prime driver, since it wasn't explicitly written for the Surface tablet. Just guessing.


#12

Quote:
Is it true that the Surface tablet has a funky version of Windows that calls itself "Windows 8" but is actually incompatible with almost all

The Surface RT cannot run standard desktop software as it uses an ARM processor. It has a special version of Windows 8 installed (Windows RT).

On the other hand, the Surface Pro has an Intel processor and can run just about any software that will run on a desktop PC running windows 8 (although, there might be some difficulties using some programs with only a touch interface.)

My assumption was that the OP had a Surface Pro since he was able to install the connection kit at all. If it was a Surface RT, he would not have been able to install it.

-Clayton


Edited: 30 Sept 2013, 8:28 p.m.

#13

Quote:
Is it true that the Surface tablet has a funky version of Windows that calls itself "Windows 8" but is actually incompatible with almost all real Windows 8 software (and everything else that isn't explicitly written for the Surface)? If so, perhaps the Surface simply can't use the Prime driver, since it wasn't explicitly written for the Surface tablet. Just guessing.

I think you're thinking about the Surface RT which has a trimmed down version of Windows 8. I have the Surface Pro which is a full 64-bit Windows 8 install. still frustrating though as a lot of software that I have and want to use is still incompatible with the real Windows 8 regardless of the machine it's running on.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Prime Connectivity Kit Suggestion toml_12953 1 570 12-06-2013, 10:41 PM
Last Post: Michael de Estrada
  Gathering USB dumps for Connectivity Kit <-> 39gII communication... debrouxl 2 612 12-01-2013, 12:59 PM
Last Post: Marcus von Cube, Germany
  HP Prime Connectivity software in Virtualbox/wine Chris Pem10 2 556 11-22-2013, 02:20 PM
Last Post: Chris Pem10
  HP Prime - Connectivity kit purpose bluesun08 2 495 11-11-2013, 10:37 AM
Last Post: Michael de Estrada
  Connectivity Kit Les Koller 1 446 11-10-2013, 06:38 PM
Last Post: Michael de Estrada
  Hp PRIME - how to send a list to the connectivity Kit giancarlo 1 483 11-10-2013, 11:50 AM
Last Post: Tim Wessman
  Connectivty Kit for HP Prime needs an "Import Program" Command Eddie W. Shore 3 695 10-23-2013, 03:37 PM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  Proper location for files on the PC for Connectivity Kit ,etc. Harold A Climer 8 1,113 10-23-2013, 02:43 AM
Last Post: Marcus von Cube, Germany
  HP Prime vs. 39gII Connectivity Kit Marcus von Cube, Germany 3 624 10-09-2013, 05:44 PM
Last Post: Marcus von Cube, Germany
  HP Prime Emulator/Conn. kit suggestion Han 2 639 09-27-2013, 11:23 AM
Last Post: Han

Forum Jump: