Does Prime Have a Multiple Equation Solver?



#2

I use my 50g a lot with MSOLVR and am wondering if the Prime has a similar functionality?

Thanks,


#3

Yes. The Solve app is updated so it can solve multiple amount of equations.


Example in Symb View of the Solve app:

E1: 2*A + 3*B = 1

E2: B^2 = 4*A + 3


With E1 and E2 checked, go to Num View and select A and B to be solved for. One solution is:


A = -.612486080161

B = .741657386774


#4

I only have the emulator so I don't know if this is still true on the real deal but this doesn't quite work for how I use MSOLVR.

With the solve app it seems if you have 3 equations you only get 3 variables. With MSOLVR, I get to enter some variables and then ask to solve for another that I didn't enter. If there is enough information in the other equations, then it gives me a result and if not it lets me know.

Simple Example for what I call trapazoidal motion of a particle. My definition of this is a particle had constant acceleration for 1/3 of the time of the move, a constant velocity for 1/3 of the time of the move and constant deceleration (same as acceleration) for the last 1/3 time of the move. In industry, this is many times a nice approximation of the best balance between energy consumption and speed.. Many times we are using a motor an screw to produce this motion so I have an equation related to that as well.

So I have the following variables:
v: Constant Velocity
t: total move time
a: constant acceleration
s: move distance
N: screw RPM
p: screw pitch

And the following 3 equations:
v=(3*s)/(2*t)
a=(9*s)/(2*t^2)
N=v/p

When I start the solver i get function key menus for all the variables. I know in my head which ones I need to solve for the other ones. So I know I can put in time and distance and get out velocity and acceleration. I can put in velocity and time and get out distance. etc.

I only have 3 equations but 6 variables. But because of the way the equations are linked, the MSOLVR keeps searching to see if it has enough information to solve for my requested variable. I don't see that functionality in the Prime emulator.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  hp-prime solver and variable name fabrice48 22 2,389 12-10-2013, 03:25 AM
Last Post: fabrice48
  HP Prime Triangle solver BruceH 29 2,373 11-28-2013, 12:03 AM
Last Post: Dale Reed
  HP prime: linear solver app Alberto Candel 1 411 11-21-2013, 01:57 AM
Last Post: Michael Carey
  HP Prime: Linear Solver app bug BruceH 0 276 11-15-2013, 06:36 PM
Last Post: BruceH
  Equation Library/App for the Prime Harold A Climer 3 516 10-30-2013, 10:14 AM
Last Post: CompSystems
  Equation Library on the PRIME Harold A Climer 0 292 10-26-2013, 10:01 AM
Last Post: Harold A Climer
  HP Prime Solver Variables Issue Anibal Morones Ruelas 8 933 10-19-2013, 09:45 AM
Last Post: Harold A Climer
  PRIME Lockup after pressing Enter key in Solver. Harold A Climer 13 1,192 10-14-2013, 12:05 PM
Last Post: Tim Wessman
  HP Prime triangle solver oddity BruceH 0 277 10-13-2013, 09:08 PM
Last Post: BruceH
  Using units in Numeric Solver Harold A Climer 1 344 10-13-2013, 10:44 AM
Last Post: Tim Wessman

Forum Jump: