HP33E how to input numbers



#7

Hi all,

I got a working HP33E in my hands :-)
I am used to HP48sx and newly a WP34S, but with
the HP33E something must be different, I am
not able to calculate simple things such
4 Enter 5 * ...

The calculator starts with:
0, 000
I press "4" the calc says:
4,
I press Enter the calc says:
4, 000
I press 5 the calc says
5,
I press * and the calc returns with:
2 0000

Is there something wrong with the display, or
is it the user .... :-)

*EDIT* I think I solved it. There must be a broken
digit. *ARGH* And I was so happy ...


Best regards
Ralf

Edited: 29 Apr 2013, 3:31 p.m.


#8

The 33E - as well as the other models of the Spice series - come in two flavours: as opposed to the later versions, these calculators originally were built in a solderless manufacturing process. Many of these, including my own 34C, suffer from missing display digits due to bad contact inside the device. In this case you might try this:

First, turn on your 33E and press [STO] and then [ENTER]. After a few seconds the complete display should light up (i.e. all digits display "8" and all decimal markers between them as well as the minus sign on the left will light up). This way you can easily tell if and where a digit does not work. The mentioned key sequence initiates the internal Spice series self-test. If an error message appears, something went wrong.

If a digit is missing, you can try to apply some gentle pressure below the display and see if something changes. You may also try twisting the whole case with both hands (gently and carefully!).

Since you said the 33E starts with a 0, 000 display, obviously the second digit does not work - standard mode is FIX 4, so the initial display should read 0,0000.

Dieter


#9

Hi Dieter,

thank you for the hint with the self test.
The second digit (counted from the left) seems to be
"dead". I try to open the machine and clean the
contacts/ solder it (?)

Thanks
Ralf


#10

Try squeezing the case together at the top and see if the missing display digit lights up. If it does, open the case and place some thin electrical tape in the case grooves for the display contacts so that they press harder against the circuit board traces.


#11

... it doesn't ... Hope to have some time next Weekend to
recover the machine.

Thanks Ralf


#12

Finally managed to open the calc without damaging the case.
Unfortunately no response from the second digit with little
presure to the LED assembly. I think I have to disassemble
the whole machine. I really like to have this machine back
to work, as for me this is the most useable case design I had
in my hands now :-)

Best regards
Ralf


#13

You might consider using fixthatcalc.com to have your calculator repaired. I have an Hp33C and it is a nice calculator to use for most of my work (no factorial key and that is a must for some types of number crunching).


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP Prime: complex numbers in CAS. Alberto Candel 1 595 12-06-2013, 02:36 PM
Last Post: parisse
  [HP Prime] Plots containing complex numbers bug? Chris Pem10 7 1,145 12-05-2013, 07:40 AM
Last Post: cyrille de Brébisson
  INPUT for HP Prime Eddie W. Shore 3 590 11-17-2013, 04:46 PM
Last Post: Michael de Estrada
  HP Prime Tutorial #4 is up (CASE/CHOOSE/INPUT) Eddie W. Shore 1 517 11-15-2013, 07:32 AM
Last Post: Davi Ribeiro de Oliveira
  HP Prime Programming Tutorial #3: WHILE, INPUT, KILL, REPEAT, GETKEY Eddie W. Shore 5 899 11-07-2013, 12:25 AM
Last Post: Han
  comparing numbers on the WP 34S Kiyoshi Akima 7 1,028 10-19-2013, 09:28 AM
Last Post: walter b
  HP Prime: Operations with Large Numbers Eddie W. Shore 0 320 10-19-2013, 12:24 AM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  minor visual bug in INPUT Han 0 348 10-03-2013, 01:13 PM
Last Post: Han
  HHC 2013 room numbers David Hayden 2 511 09-20-2013, 05:34 PM
Last Post: sjthomas
  [HP-Prime xcas] operations with complex numbers + BUGs + Request CompSystems 9 1,262 09-08-2013, 10:40 PM
Last Post: CompSystems

Forum Jump: