Able to set HP 48G axis tick marks at integers?



#2

When I plot an equation, I would like for the tick marks of each axis to correspond to the integers, but I can't figure out how to adjust settings to make it that way. For example, if the line/curve intersects the X axis at x=3, it woud be nice if that point was at the third tick mark to the right of the origin, but it is not like that at all. Sometimes the tick marks are 7 integers apart, other times 2.5 apart, other times 0.7 apart. I can see how that might be handy sometimes (e.g. y = 56x + 113), but most often the plots of equations I am dealing with are viewed fine within the range of - 8 < x < 8 and -8 < y < 8. So it is fine with me if the tick marks get closer together when I zoom out, or farther aparter when I zoom in, but always at the integers so I can quickly tell the magnitude of the curve in relation to the coordinate axes. The precalc textbook I am using was apparently designed for a TexasInstruments user, and apparently on those calculators it is quite simple to have the axes set so each tick is an integer, because all of the screenshot examples are that way.


#3

Quote:
When I plot an equation, I would like for the tick marks of each axis to correspond to the integers, but I can't figure out how to adjust settings to make it that way. For example, if the line/curve intersects the X axis at x=3, it woud be nice if that point was at the third tick mark to the right of the origin, but it is not like that at all. Sometimes the tick marks are 7 integers apart, other times 2.5 apart, other times 0.7 apart. I can see how that might be handy sometimes (e.g. y = 56x + 113), but most often the plots of equations I am dealing with are viewed fine within the range of - 8 < x < 8 and -8 < y < 8. So it is fine with me if the tick marks get closer together when I zoom out, or farther aparter when I zoom in, but always at the integers so I can quickly tell the magnitude of the curve in relation to the coordinate axes. The precalc textbook I am using was apparently designed for a TexasInstruments user, and apparently on those calculators it is quite simple to have the axes set so each tick is an integer, because all of the screenshot examples are that way.

This is fairly easy to fix. The short answer is to go into the "OPTS" menu before you draw the equations, uncheck the "PIXELS" option (this is key), and set "H-TICK" and "V-TICK" to 1.

Detailed steps:

  1. Right-shift 8 to get into PLOT
  2. Press the OPTS menu (i.e. D)
  3. Arrow key to "PIXELS" and uncheck it
  4. Arrow key to "H-TICK" and set it to 1
  5. Arrow key to "V-TICK" and set it to 1

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP Prime: Long integers (continued) Helge Gabert 2 203 11-07-2013, 11:24 AM
Last Post: Helge Gabert
  HP Prime: Pass "Long" Integers to a Program Helge Gabert 6 372 11-03-2013, 01:12 PM
Last Post: Helge Gabert
  How to set the Date.Time etc on a WP34S Harold A Climer 4 289 10-29-2013, 09:32 PM
Last Post: FORTIN Pascal
  Prime Program number of set bits kris223 3 238 10-23-2013, 03:05 PM
Last Post: David Hayden
  Riemann's Zeta Function update (HP-28S, HP-48G/GX/G+, HP-49G/G+/50g) Gerson W. Barbosa 0 136 06-30-2013, 01:01 AM
Last Post: Gerson W. Barbosa
  OT: DIFFERENTIAL EQUATIONS using the HP-48G/GX Ivan Rancati 2 199 06-04-2013, 04:11 AM
Last Post: Frank Boehm (Germany)
  HP 48G -- entering more than one equation into the PLOT application Randal B 1 143 01-24-2013, 12:25 AM
Last Post: Chris Dreher
  HP 48G series -> 20 years NACHO 0 135 12-13-2012, 09:40 AM
Last Post: Nacho
  Any informal HHC2012 time set aside for WP34S??? Namir 8 371 09-07-2012, 09:26 AM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  ROOT bug? HP 48S/48G Eddie W. Shore 8 413 07-13-2012, 07:05 PM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore

Forum Jump: