Wp34s beta 2: possible serious bug in integer mode



#5

I just noticed this now because I usually enter values in hex and not in binary, but this seems serious.
I have the calc set to 16 bit unsigned. If I try to enter a 16 digits long binary integer, only the first 12 digits are "understood", and become the lowest bits of the number. The rest of the bits (the most significant ones) are filled with zeroes.

Example: if I try to enter 1234h in binary, which should be 0001 0010 0011 0100, on the display I see 0001 0010 0011b. If I switch one page to the left, I see 0000b.
I should have seen 0010 0011 0100b, and 0001 on the left page.

Same thing on the emulator, updated to latest version.

Bug or mess-up on my part? :)

Cristian


#6

Just to add to my previous post, this happens also in other bases and in other word sizes - all the bases and word sizes that produce a number with more than 12 digits. Only 12 digits are entered, the others are ignored.

Other modes as 1c, 2c don't fix the issue; and even turning off leading zeros doesn't fix it.


#7

Ciao Cristian,

That's no bug - it's a feature. You can't enter more than 12 digits in any base. No blind typing ;-) But you may of course enter 76543 octal and change the base to binary thereafter.

Walter


#8

Ah... Ok. I thought the intended behaviour could have been, for example, a scrolling screen - i.e. when entering "extra" digits, the whole display scrolls to the left and the leftmost digit disappears, going to the other page - exactly as it happens on the 16c.
It's lucky then that I don't enter binary numbers directly very often! :)

Cristian


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Integration question and "RPN" mode comment Craig Thomas 16 881 12-05-2013, 02:32 AM
Last Post: Nick_S
  HP Prime: Recommendation for future RPN Program Mode BruceTTT 3 259 11-13-2013, 10:03 PM
Last Post: BruceTTT
  Program to change entry mode on Prime Michael de Estrada 3 270 10-28-2013, 10:13 AM
Last Post: Han
  Prime: Exam mode (possible duplicate after funny response first time) Paul Townsend (UK) 1 186 10-24-2013, 03:09 PM
Last Post: Tim Wessman
  Does RPN entry mode cause the Prime keyboard to lock up ? Michael de Estrada 14 673 10-22-2013, 06:27 PM
Last Post: John Colvin
  HP Prime: Edit integer in RPN mode plivesey 15 624 10-18-2013, 04:34 PM
Last Post: kris223
  Temporary User Mode Key Programs not working in RPN BruceTTT 7 390 10-14-2013, 01:46 PM
Last Post: BruceTTT
  HP Prime: MAKELIST in RPN mode? toml_12953 2 209 10-13-2013, 07:40 PM
Last Post: BruceH
  Prime Edit Integer kris223 8 368 09-24-2013, 06:43 PM
Last Post: kris223
  wp34s binomial bug Andrew Nikitin 4 221 09-22-2013, 05:20 PM
Last Post: Paul Dale

Forum Jump: