Wp34s: word size lost?



#7

With version 946 (svn updated a few minutes ago to 955, and I flashed the newly-updated calc.bin, but on the real calc it shows 946... Is that because only the emulator was updated with the latest builds?)
Anyway: if I go to integer mode, Hex, and set word size to 16 ("un 16" displayed); then I go back to decimal mode with H.d; then go back to integer Hex mode; the word size is reset to 64 bit ("un 64").
Is this a regression or has it always been like this? I can't remember now...

Cristian


#8

The revision number is strange. The most recent build should now be at 956.

I can't help with the word size question. We have to wait for Pauli or Walter on this one. I assume that the word size is reset when switching back to floating point. IIRC Pauli has simplified the switch between integer and floating point by just rounding the stack values instead of mimicking the 16C behavior (which I still don't understand).


#9

Hm... I myself don't care how the stack is modified when switching back and forth (for me integer and floating are totally separate sessions), as long as it remembers my settings... I use the integer mode almost exclusively in 16 bit unsigned mode, so I'd like to avoid having to re-set it everytime I need integer! :)

Cristian


#10

I've modified Pauli's mode switching code so as not to reset the word size. I hope this did not break anything in floating point mode. I doubt it because it had always been possible to switch the word size when not in integer mode.

The MODE catalogue is now context sensitive, just like X.FCN is. :-)


Edited: 25 May 2011, 10:55 a.m.

#11

Quote:
Is this a regression or has it always been like this? I can't remember now...

I checked it with my 16C. It does the same and I know why. :-)

In integer mode, the 16C reallocates the registers depending on the word size. When switching back to floating point, the size must be adjusted to at least the width of a floating point number.


#12

I just checked 960, and it seems to do what I wanted! Thanks! :)

Quote:
I checked it with my 16C. It does the same and I know why. :-)

In integer mode, the 16C reallocates the registers depending on the word size. When switching back to floating point, the size must be adjusted to at least the width of a floating point number.


Well... I didn't remember that because I only exclusively use the 16c in integer mode... But, then this is an occasion where "total 16C compatibility" isn't the best choice, in my opinion! :) Anyway, thanks for implementing this feature, and I hope it didn't break anything anywhere else!

Cristian


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Prime: Program size limited to 64K? Erwin Ried 4 262 11-17-2013, 11:42 PM
Last Post: Joseph Ec
  More Prime problems - lost Apps key again Michael de Estrada 10 427 11-16-2013, 12:46 PM
Last Post: Michael de Estrada
  Prime: size display bug when editing large programs BruceH 2 174 10-31-2013, 05:30 PM
Last Post: BruceH
  HP Prime SIZE and OBJ-> with matrices/vectors/lists Helge Gabert 8 382 09-27-2013, 05:44 PM
Last Post: Helge Gabert
  OT: How to get data from WinXP to a full-size PCMCIA SRAM card Gene Wright 10 370 06-25-2013, 08:03 PM
Last Post: gene wright
  Lost formulas David Goldstein 5 244 05-08-2013, 03:39 AM
Last Post: Katie Wasserman
  [41CL] Rescue from 'Lost Y Functions' Dan Grelinger 18 592 02-16-2013, 02:08 PM
Last Post: Diego Diaz
  [WP34S] WP34S firmware on the AT91SAM7L-STK dev kit? jerome ibanes 1 156 10-04-2012, 04:59 PM
Last Post: Paul Dale
  [WP34S] Stack size impact on speed? SSIZE4. Chris Tvergard 13 479 05-13-2012, 11:42 AM
Last Post: Chris Tvergard
  Package lost-stolen Artur-Brazil 12 478 03-22-2012, 12:29 PM
Last Post: Antonio Petri (UK)

Forum Jump: