casio fx-cg10 topless!



#4

off topic for HP, but some of you might be interested. here's a pic of the circuit board from the casio fx-cg10. im assuming the large blob is the processor (SH3) and the others are flash and ram?

i've been trying to find out how much ram it actually has. i know it's more than the official 64k. im thinking it might be 512k.

anyhow,


#5

Seems more likely to be 256KB. They need 165,888 bytes for the frame buffer, if they aren't using a CLUT (color lookup table).

Note that the flash chip shown is 32MB, so they must be reserving half of it for the firmware and other system use.

Edited: 18 Apr 2011, 6:08 p.m.


#6

i know that the screen is 162k at 16bpp. im told that the system needs to buffer a copy of the screen. this would require 324k and therefore more than 256, if true.

with a lot of help, i've managed to get some native code running on it. i'll have to write some hacks to explore the ram limits.

i took the back off, incase it was obvious from the board, but the blob attack has thwarted me.

Edited: 18 Apr 2011, 6:57 p.m.


#7

A screen buffer, sure. The hardware reads the buffer, serializes the data, and presents it to the display drivers. But there's no good reason for a product like this to have TWO screen buffers unless they are doing some major animation. For small animations, they can simply update the relevant portions of the buffer during retrace time.

Good job getting native code running! It will be interesting to hear what else you discover.


#8

i can't claim any credit for getting the native code running. i got all the help from the casio hackers. but im hoping to port some of my graphical stuff to it. that's why im interested in the ram and the screen layout.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  ENG button (like Casio calculators) on HP Prime uklo 3 1,467 11-04-2013, 09:45 PM
Last Post: LHH
  [HP Prime] Request: re-execute history like CASIO classPAD serie 300/400 CompSystems 1 1,032 09-03-2013, 02:47 PM
Last Post: CompSystems
  OT: Does anyone have the new Casio Classpad fx-CP400? Eddie W. Shore 4 1,405 08-20-2013, 08:42 AM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  Classpad II fx-CP400 emulator Namir 0 803 07-07-2013, 08:07 AM
Last Post: Namir
  Casio fx-CP400 emulator (90 days trial) Mic 2 1,349 05-16-2013, 01:07 PM
Last Post: critor
  OT: RPN port to Casio fx-cg10/20? Matt Kernal 4 1,447 04-30-2013, 12:16 PM
Last Post: hugh steers
  Casio fx-CP400 preorder for Europe ! Mic 3 1,114 12-08-2012, 01:02 PM
Last Post: Mic
  OMG : NEW Casio calculator with color !! Mic 23 3,994 11-29-2012, 01:27 PM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  OT: Casio Fx-702p emulator pascal_meheut 15 2,985 09-17-2012, 01:44 AM
Last Post: pascal_meheut
  A temporary "fix", the Casio Prism (fx-CG10) LHH 5 1,526 08-25-2012, 07:39 PM
Last Post: LHH

Forum Jump: