On the missing comma as thousand-separator



#2

I really like how, on older calculators, the comma (used as thousands-separator) moves as you input a large number. It makes it very easy to enter such numbers quickly and without errors.

This has been eliminated in newer calculators, including the HP-50g and the HP-35s.
I have heard repeated that new calculators cannot use this as they accept a more general form of input on the stack. But I think this explanation does not really hold up. It would be very easy to write an algorithm that places commas properly even for arbitrary stack input: simply check that to the left of the cursor you only have digits until a whitespace, and if so, place commas every three digits (taking into account of the decimal point). When a non-digit (such as E, or -, etc) is inserted, freeze the commas where they are, and continue getting input.
Why would this not work?

In fact, it would be quite simple to encode the above as a state-machine.

Luca


#3

I have both RPN and RPL machines and I have always preferred the RPN style with a 4-level stack. I do understand the issue in the RPL machine where the command line needs to parse an entry for its data type and extra commas can confuse it. But aren't we dealing with two separate issues? On a 41 when you type in a number, the commas are inserted automatically and maintained by the display but are not a part of the number itself. In the RPL machines, commas are never displayed for either integers or real numbers (as I remember). So, the issue is, as I see it, inputting of numeric data verses the display of numeric data.

As a compromise, why not disallow commas when inputting a real (it has a radix displayed in a 50g) number or integer (no radix in a 50g) number so the command line can properly parse the input. Then, after the number type is identified, have the calculator firmware put commas in the display of those number types only. It's not perfect but it would be a step getting the commas back in a number.

It does raise the question of if you have large numbers in the real and imaginary axises of a complex number, can the firmware also insert display commas? I don't see why it couldn't but I'm no expert. The displaying of all numeric data types would have to be rewritten. Sounds like a lot of work and that would cost.

My 2 cents.

Gerry


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [HP-Prime] - Missing confirmation before deletion Jean-Michel 11 916 11-14-2013, 05:47 AM
Last Post: Thomas Radtke
  HP Prime : Programming and the Comma Miguel Toro 7 720 10-25-2013, 12:18 PM
Last Post: Miguel Toro
  HP Prime Comma for Thousands Separator Michael Gerbasio 3 421 10-04-2013, 01:50 PM
Last Post: Michael Gerbasio
  HP 15C missing logo ! FORTIN Pascal 16 1,254 10-02-2013, 08:40 PM
Last Post: FORTIN Pascal
  Missing LCD segments (48 SX) Matti Övermark 2 362 09-18-2013, 03:50 PM
Last Post: Matti Övermark
  Missing functions on the HP Prime!!!??? :-( Namir 6 554 08-22-2013, 08:40 AM
Last Post: Gilles Carpentier
  HP-12C: Missing Segments Stefan Ramonat 2 385 06-28-2013, 10:59 AM
Last Post: Stefan Ramonat
  Missing HP Prime introduction Johnny Bjoern Rasmussen 2 347 04-24-2013, 05:18 AM
Last Post: Johnny Bjoern Rasmussen
  Missing pages in HP-42s manual Philippe Cairic 1 275 12-05-2012, 01:52 AM
Last Post: Philippe Cairic
  A still missing feature in WP-34S (please read on) Andrés C. Rodríguez (Argentina) 9 691 05-26-2012, 12:25 AM
Last Post: Jim Horn

Forum Jump: