Possible to change 20b P/YR default?



#6

Hello, does anyone know if it is possible to change the 20b P/YR (compounding periods) factory default, from 12 to 1? Most of the problems I am solving require yearly compounding, and it is tedious to keep having to manually change the P/YR each time I reset TVM. Thanks for your advice!

Edited: 15 Aug 2008, 6:45 p.m.


#7

How about adding a LBL Z just above PROGRAM TOP
and then put both resetting routinr and P/YR setting there
Run that (XEQbZ) each time you want to reset+set
huh?
VPN

#8

Do the following

Enter: 1
Enter: (the key with the blue stripe)
Enter: PMT
Enter: Input

Unless you change it the compound period will stay at 1.


#9

Thanks for the tip, but unfortunately it does not keep the P/YR of 1 after resetting the TVM keys (reverts back to 12).

Any other possible ideas?

Edited: 16 Aug 2008, 2:56 a.m.


#10

Sorry about that. A reset of the TVM environment is like an old HP41c "memory clear" condition in that it resets everything in that environment to the factory default - P/YR = 12.

#11

Sorry about that. I use the calculator to do one year compounding all the time. I do not clear the TVM between calculations with a reset. If you replace each variable in the new calculation with the new amount that is not necessary. At worst this causes you to input one extra number, for example, 0 as the new PMT amount, if their was a payment amount in the prior calculation. This is no more work that doing a reset between calculations.

#12

hello,

Quote:
Hello, does anyone know if it is possible to change the 20b P/YR (compounding periods) factory default, from 12 to 1? Most of the problems I am solving require yearly compounding, and it is tedious to keep having to manually change the P/YR each time I reset TVM. Thanks for your advice!

I understand your problem, and as stated by other, the best solution for you is not to reset the TVM variable but just override the values...

the reason for this behavior is to simplify life for teacher and support people. when someone calls the support line saying: I have a TVM problem, the first thing that the operator ask them to do is to reset the TVM variable to put the calculator into a known state... if P/YR was not reset, this is one more thing that could go wrong (and will of course) and more hardship in trying to diagnose the problem.

same thing for the teacher who has 30 or more student in the classroom...

I appologize for the inconvenience to you.

regards, cyrille


#13

Thank you all for your kind help! I really appreciate it. What a great community. I am humbled by everyone's expertise.

I apologize, in advance, for such unsophisticated questions I may have. I am a loyal HP user. I have used the 11C, 15C & 32SII in science, and am just now learning finance. Unfortunately, the professor is a TI supporter and teaches the course using TI commands only. Not only do I have to learn principles of finance, but simultaneously have to learn the manipulations on my new 20b, on my own.

Edited: 16 Aug 2008, 3:55 p.m.


#14

Hello,

hopefully, the 20b is similar enough to the BAII+ that it is not too hard...

you will even find that the 20b is easier to use, require usually less keystrokes and is more user friendly... maybe you can convice your teacher to switch over!

cyrille

#15

Quote:
reset the TVM variable to put the calculator into a known state

Yes, you have a good point. I have no end of trouble for people buying and using the 10B business model. (Or not-so-bright business people buying the manual thinking that the picture on the front of the 10b book IS the calculator being sold.)

One gentlemen argued with me for days... saying his calculator was broken.. I ran his numbers and figured the P/YR was set to 1 instead of 12.

Since he could not figure out how to press two buttons to enter P/YR=12, I had him RESET the calculator which automatically set the P/YR=12... It is a really handy default (noted in the manual) and I "fixed" the "bad" machine over the phone. Too bad Ebay does not have a filter to block if buyer IQ =< 70 That would save me lots of trouble.

#16

You might give this website a try - a comprehensive comparison of the way, different calculators handle similar tasks in finance.

http://www.tvmcalcs.com/

Best regards

Peter A. Gebhardt

Edited: 17 Aug 2008, 5:30 p.m.

#17

I just make sure after I reset the tvm that I switch the P/YR to one. You can zero them out individually, but if you use the interest conversion menu and then shift-->reset the nominal and effective rate to zero it will automatically change P/YR to twelve. In other words it is easy to use the interest conversion menu, reset it, and then have it automatically switch to 12 P/YR without realizing it. So if you use the interest conversion menu a lot either take care to manually zero everything in the iconv menu and tvm or just set P/YR to one every time.


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Program to change entry mode on Prime Michael de Estrada 3 616 10-28-2013, 10:13 AM
Last Post: Han
  HP PRIME: How to change the column headers and reset data Joseph Ec 5 767 10-18-2013, 02:26 PM
Last Post: Joseph Ec
  Leading 0 change? Tim Wessman 12 1,161 10-07-2013, 12:11 PM
Last Post: Katie Wasserman
  HP's thinking behind the 20b/30b? John Ioannidis 3 587 09-07-2013, 10:21 AM
Last Post: Tim Wessman
  20b, 30b not in HP's web store Eric Smith 3 590 02-08-2013, 11:52 AM
Last Post: Walter B
  Default angle mode Eric Smith 71 4,058 12-06-2012, 01:19 AM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  DM-xxCC Default Display Values Mark Hardman 3 516 09-13-2012, 03:42 PM
Last Post: Lode
  A non 20b/30b 34S Matt Agajanian 22 1,785 08-20-2012, 01:06 AM
Last Post: Reth
  [WP-34s] IR conversion of 20b Alexander Oestert 3 551 05-18-2012, 05:38 PM
Last Post: Harald
  Sharp PC 1211 display change -- problem overnight -- suggestions? Gene Wright 12 1,142 05-16-2012, 03:31 AM
Last Post: Bart (UK)

Forum Jump: