MICRO SD CARDS IN HP 50G??



#2

I just found a great deal on micro SD cards - 2 for $16, and both come with a full size SD adapter. Will they work (in the adapter, of course) in an HP50g? @nd half same question - they are 2Gb cards - I heard someplace that 2 Gb. cards won't work?? Thanx!

polarbear Mike


#3

My 2G microSD cards work fine.

#4

The "2GB cards won't work" thing is only with certain hpgcc programs that use a custom filesystem library. This has been fixed (mostly) and will likely be fixed completely in the near future. 2GB cards themselves work just fine with the calculator OS.

TW

here it is fixed: http://groups.google.com/group/comp.sys.hp48/browse_thread/thread/166f6df42b9f847e/1688a736c411d077#1688a736c411d077

Edited: 22 Feb 2008, 7:29 p.m. after one or more responses were posted


#5

That's great news! I wonder just how big a card you CAN use? Is 2Gb a limit or just "for now"... Anyways, i just ordered my micro SD's, and it may take a few days to fill them up, so i have time to experiment. LOL Thanks again!

polarbear Mike


#6

Since I don't have a 50g to know, I have to ask-- what could you possibly use that much storage for on this machine? When my only desktop computer years ago ran on DOS, I had a 32MB disc which I never filled to more than about 20MB, holding a lot of user and installation manuals for our products, all the engineering stuff for them including source code (which printed out to several inches thick of paper), assemblers, compilers, device programmers, CAD, and a lot of complex 12-layer printed circuit boards with up to 500 parts per board. Besides PC bloatware (ie, very inefficiently written software), the reason today to have gigabytes of storage is for lots of pictures, music or other recorded sound, video, etc., which the 50g is not suited for. So is this a joke, or am I missing something?


#7

Quote:
//I have to ask-- what could you possibly use that much storage for on this machine?//

I'm a surveyor for the Dept of Transportation - I never know from day to day what job I'm going to be working on, so I have to carry complete job files for all the different jobs I MIGHT have to work on. These include land-net and right-of-way, terrain, structures, alignments (horizontal and vertical), benches and level runs, super-elevations for each curve, control, and lots of other data. These jobs can be anywhere from a few hundred yards to several (about 50) miles each; they can be HUGE. Add to that the data collection and processing software, and coordinate geometry libraries, etc. that allow me to be very productive, and it adds up to quite a package. I like being able to have instantaneous access to each job without having to worry about uploading it from a laptop or looking for the correct "chip" it might be on. The 128Mb chip I was using in the 50 often is overfilled so I was looking into bigger memory for it.

Quote:
So is this a joke, or am I missing something?

I think you missed something. The fact Kiyoshi is using them says i'm not the only one who want's/needs that much storage. I grant it's probably way more than most people need, but then I'm not most people... ;o) Thanks!

polarbear Mike


#8

Unlike many I can easily understand how you'd fill a 128mb. Not sure if you knew, but I am the head programmer and one of the founders of the DC50 company: (http://pssllc.com)

I still have trouble seeing how you could fill a 2gb, unless by terrain you mean uncompressed TIFFs or something. Which software alignments are you using? I ask because I have a "test alignment" that has all the templates, alignments and so on that changes every 10 feet. It is over 180 miles of this and yet only takes up 17 kb.

Now we do ship with all of CONUS, AK, PR, HAWAII, and CANADA for both 99 and 03 on each SD card, but that still only takes about 100mb.

TW


#9

Quote:
Unlike many I can easily understand how you'd fill a 128mb. Not sure if you knew, but I am the head programmer and one of the founders of the DC50 company: (http://pssllc.com)

Hi Tim! No, I didn't know that, but I'm honored to make your acquaintance! Yes, 128mb fills up really fast, if you carry complete job files for each of about 20 to 25 different jobs!

Quote:
I still have trouble seeing how you could fill a 2gb, unless by terrain you mean uncompressed TIFFs or something. Which software alignments are you using?

That's the whole idea of getting a 2gb card; it will hold all of everything in every job and still leave me room for new work. The alignments are relatively small, average on the order of 5 to 25kb depending on the job - includes mainline alignment, plus alignment files for each on/off ramp, structure (bridge) alignments, every crossing local road, sometimes frontage roads, etc. and sometimes, we set up each right-of-way as a set of alignment files, because you can stake it with zero offset, then. Our alignments are usually produced in the office on CaiCE software (we're supposed to change over to InRoads pretty soon though), but we can build them on-the-fly in the field too, with the Trimble TSCE w/ Trimble data collection software in it. They include horizontal layouts, profiles, and templates for each change in the cross section. The biggest files in the job are the "As-Staked" files - after each point is staked out, it is shot again and recorded. Rough grade, finish surface, every drainage structure, bridge, all the bench runs, etc. - everything is in there! Our DOT doesn't use TIFFs for storing existing surface; we have a strange kind of terrain file called TLI (Terrain Line Interpolation files) which can vary from 400 or 500 points to well over 15000. So, all design, plus as-staked files is a big package. I'll just guesstimate that each complete job file averages about 30kb, times around 20 average jobs is about 600mb. Doesn't fit a 128mb very well, but will be comfortably roomy on a 2gb chip.

I was looking at your DC50 software and was pretty impressed with it - would probably have gotten it and paid for it myself (ouch! on a State workers paycheck) but the state bought software for us from one of your competitors, (should I say it? D'Zign Transportation Pac) and we're using that instead. Most of the data collection is done with our two TSCE's but I do a LOT of field calc's and checking of design before the staking - catch a lot of design errors that way before they get built! That's why I carry, and use the heck out of my calculators. Check it twice, then stake it once!

How do I sign up to beta-test DC50? LOL

polarbear Mike
--

#10

Quote:
That's great news! I wonder just how big a card you CAN use? Is 2Gb a limit or just "for now"... Anyways, i just ordered my micro SD's, and it may take a few days to fill them up, so i have time to experiment. LOL Thanks again!

polarbear Mike



I think 2GB might be the limit as 4GB or greater SD cards are actually SDHC which is downward compatible but not upward compatible with SD.

Dont think Hp50g can read anything above 2GB then...

#11

That is a great deal. Where did you find them?


#12

buy.com


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  hp-41 Cards Marcel Samek 8 1,002 11-07-2013, 11:13 PM
Last Post: Garth Wilson
  re-recording original cards aj04062 2 479 09-15-2013, 10:32 AM
Last Post: Dieter
  Micro Voyagers Matt Agajanian 11 976 08-26-2013, 05:11 PM
Last Post: Stephan Matthys
  Series 80 EPROM cards Paul Berger (Canada) 0 425 12-08-2012, 07:50 PM
Last Post: Paul Berger (Canada)
  Anyone willing to read some HP41 cards? LarryLion 10 1,019 09-05-2012, 01:48 AM
Last Post: Juergen Keller
  PCMCIA SD adapter for 200 LX? wildpig 4 510 08-27-2012, 08:20 AM
Last Post: Bill (Smithville, NJ)
  HP 48SX Solve Equation Library Cards Mike Hein 3 554 08-22-2012, 01:07 PM
Last Post: Chris Dreher
  Question about magnetic cards for the HP-41C Card Reader Namir 2 439 08-15-2012, 12:15 PM
Last Post: Namir
  [WP-34S] Micro projector ever? Chris Tvergard 6 654 06-01-2012, 09:21 AM
Last Post: Chris Tvergard
  HP-67/97 Mag Cards...Can they be marketed again? Matt Agajanian 11 1,000 05-14-2012, 10:22 PM
Last Post: Dale Reed

Forum Jump: