HP-41C Wand Button Problem



#2

I've finally got a barcode wand (HP82153A) to help enter programs into my HP-41CX! It does work, but unfortunately the button seems to be a bit finicky.

If I press on the wrong part of the button, or if I press too hard, the red light will turn off. The best place to press seems to be near the red LED part of the wand. The worst place seems to be higher up on the wand, toward the cord. I have to give it just the right pressure, and make sure not to go over. If I do it just right, the light stays on and red the whole time, and barcodes can be scanned successfully. But if I press too hard, the light will go out in mid-scan.

Has anyone else ever seen this behavior? Is there anything I should try that might help?


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP Prime: the drama of the Apps button, shutdown, formatting, nothing solves Davi Ribeiro de Oliveira 0 335 11-17-2013, 07:23 AM
Last Post: Davi Ribeiro de Oliveira
  HP Prime: the drama of the Apps button, shutdown, formatting, nothing solves Davi Ribeiro de Oliveira 1 412 11-16-2013, 11:26 PM
Last Post: Michael de Estrada
  ENG button (like Casio calculators) on HP Prime uklo 3 625 11-04-2013, 09:45 PM
Last Post: LHH
  How to create a touch button [HP Prime] uklo 1 418 11-02-2013, 02:03 PM
Last Post: Marcus von Cube, Germany
  HP Prime touch button SanS 3 491 10-10-2013, 12:24 PM
Last Post: Han
  HP-41c display problem Ignacio Sánchez 6 761 09-04-2013, 10:52 AM
Last Post: Ignacio Sánchez Reig
  best button cell batteries JDonley 6 676 01-30-2013, 10:00 PM
Last Post: JDonley
  Sharp PC-1500 question (F2 button disabled?) LHH 7 733 12-03-2012, 08:34 PM
Last Post: LHH
  Zinc-Air PR44 button cell batteries Basil 3 454 08-25-2012, 03:25 AM
Last Post: Marcus von Cube, Germany
  Errors reading with a HP 82153A Barcode Optical Wand aurelio 22 1,793 04-04-2012, 05:19 PM
Last Post: Les Wright

Forum Jump: