Modifying character set........and later it defaults. :-(



#10

I've spent much time modifying the character sets so my equations look nicer. Once, while changing the batteries (but with a charged CR2032 installed) the character sets restored to their default value. bummer.

Another time I tried to check my battery level with that On-F6 keystroke, and in order to get out of the menus it did a warm restart and, yep, the defaults were restored.

Trying to restore my changed characters from an SD card ( :3:xxxx Restore ) does NOT restore changed character bitmaps.

any ideas on how to keep my precious modified character sets?


#11

What calc are you talking about? I'd guess it is an HP50?

I tried changing the character set on the HP48 and HP49 too and found the same problems, it is one of those features that sounds like a good idea until you actually try to use it when it turns out to be more of a problem. :-(


#12

Prof. Rautenberg's Fontman may help: http://page.mi.fu-berlin.de/~raut/WR49/Fontman.htm


#13

Sorry, it's a 49g+, and I'll check out that link in about 2 seconds.

#14

I grabed my copy of fontman from Rautenberg's website

http://page.mi.fu-berlin.de/~raut/WR49/index.htm

and I extracted the zip file into a new folder. This folder now contains:

Fontman.pic
Fontman.htm
Fontman file 2kb
LFont.F
Fontman.gif

I placed the Fontman file 2kb and the LFont.F onto my HP49g+.

when I click and press the down arrow on the LFont.F, I get a beautiful array of fonts, but when I echo them onto the stack the actual character corresponds to the default characters the HP normally has. But no problem for now...

When I click on the Fontman button (Fontman is now the name of a program in that menu area, so I hit one of the upperrow keys to activate it), I get on the stack

Library 308: Fontman 9.2003 WR

I don't "enter" a program at all. What do I need to do to get the program "running"?

JC


#15

It isn't a program. It is a library. Libraries go in port 0 1 or 2. Use port 2. Move the file into port 2 using the filer. Press and hold ON-C and release both at the same time. Your calculator will reboot. Press Right shift-2 to access the library menu. Then read the directions.

TW


#16

One more thing. Rather than waiting for someone to answer you, you can probably find your answers much quicker by searching the main hp calculator discussion location, comp.sys.hp48. This group is dedicated mainly to older "collector" models.

http://groups.google.com/group/comp.sys.hp48/topics

Type your question in the search, and I bet you will find it.

TW

#17

Where "\->" represents the "right arrow" character (right-shifted
0 key), read up on the commands FONT\-> and \->FONT. For that
matter, also see FONT6, FONT7, and FONT8.

Anyway, you can put your current (possibly modified) font object
on the stack with FONT\->, save it in a global variable, and later
recall it to the stack and make it your current font with \->FONT.

Wolfgang's libraries and programs are usually excellent, in
particular in optimization for program size, but he does seem to
have a bad habit of using unsupported entry points, which can make
one fail with ROM revisions other than the one that it was written
with. Whether this is the case with Fontman, I don't know.

Regarding the ARCHIVE and RESTORE commands, note that they archive
and restore only the home directory and its subdirectories, thus
all global variables including reserved variables. In particular,
they don't apply to the flags or various other settings that
aren't stored in global variables.

Also note that everything is case sensitive on the RPL models.
"RESTORE" is a built-in command; "Restore" isn't.

Regards,
James

Edited: 20 Feb 2007, 8:16 p.m.


#18

PS:

My post refers to the 49 series (49G, 49g+, 48gII, and 50g).

I'm aware that there are applications for changing the fonts on the 48 series, but they're not built-in. For those methods, see their documentation.

Regards,
James


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  How to set the Date.Time etc on a WP34S Harold A Climer 4 481 10-29-2013, 09:32 PM
Last Post: FORTIN Pascal
  Prime Program number of set bits kris223 3 389 10-23-2013, 03:05 PM
Last Post: David Hayden
  Able to set HP 48G axis tick marks at integers? Randal B 1 227 01-24-2013, 12:40 AM
Last Post: Chris Dreher
  Any informal HHC2012 time set aside for WP34S??? Namir 8 548 09-07-2012, 09:26 AM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore
  35s prompt for multi-character variables in program like "low footprint" root finder Chris C 8 598 02-14-2012, 06:52 PM
Last Post: Chris C
  [WP34S] Numeric Integrator Has Max Iterations Set? Les Wright 6 439 11-23-2011, 05:35 AM
Last Post: Paul Dale
  Just got my Museum DVD Set... Raymond Wiker 4 343 11-16-2011, 11:12 AM
Last Post: DigiGal
  41 halfnut character question Eric Smith 5 345 08-23-2011, 02:09 PM
Last Post: Eric Smith
  HP-41CV "HFF" ROM set Eric Smith 4 356 07-26-2011, 02:13 PM
Last Post: Eric Smith
  HP 27s - How to set # decimal places displayed? M Tulloch 4 329 12-21-2010, 07:23 PM
Last Post: bill platt

Forum Jump: