HP 33s (Fixed decimal point size problem)



#5

I am purchasing an HP 33 for the SIT exam and I read that it was originally made with a smaller decimal point but later revised to make it more clear.

How you ensure you are getting the more legible model?

S/N?, Date of manufacture?


#6

Virtually any 33s that you buy today will have the bigger comma and decimal points. The test is easy -- turn it on in the package and type a few numbers, and if you can see it fairly easy, you've got the new one. The old one was almost unintelligible...

thanks,
bruce


#7

I seem to remember trying to turn on an HP-33 in the package once and found it to be virtually impossible. I suppose it could have been some other calc... it's been awhile.


#8

It's not easy, I agree. But it IS possible. :-)


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  HP PRIME: derivative at a point Alasdair McAndrew 2 304 11-19-2013, 06:52 AM
Last Post: parisse
  Prime: Program size limited to 64K? Erwin Ried 4 477 11-17-2013, 11:42 PM
Last Post: Joseph Ec
  HP PRIME: Fixed 4 number format 0.001000 Joseph Ec 18 1,418 11-07-2013, 11:51 AM
Last Post: Geoff Quickfall
  Prime: size display bug when editing large programs BruceH 2 339 10-31-2013, 05:30 PM
Last Post: BruceH
  Rearanging the "Fixed" sort order of Prime's Apps icons Joe Horn 3 407 10-02-2013, 10:24 AM
Last Post: Han
  HP Prime SIZE and OBJ-> with matrices/vectors/lists Helge Gabert 8 681 09-27-2013, 05:44 PM
Last Post: Helge Gabert
  [HP Prime CAS] Bugs Fixed CompSystems 1 254 08-03-2013, 02:55 AM
Last Post: Cristian Arezzini
  OT: How to get data from WinXP to a full-size PCMCIA SRAM card Gene Wright 10 709 06-25-2013, 08:03 PM
Last Post: gene wright
  Binary versus Decimal prefixes bill platt 22 1,323 04-27-2013, 11:22 AM
Last Post: Walter B
  Decimal/Binary Conversions for the HP 39gii - 3/16/2013 Eddie W. Shore 0 232 03-16-2013, 04:30 PM
Last Post: Eddie W. Shore

Forum Jump: