HP Forums
HP 33s for non-engineers - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: HP 33s for non-engineers (/thread-56297.html)

HP 33s for non-engineers - Dave Olson - 05-03-2004

I recognize that most people here are probably engineering students, and see the HP 33s as a good calculator for the NCEES exam. I'm a physics student, rather, and am looking for a good calculator to replace my old TI-36. Does anyone have any thoughts on the 33s in that light?

Re: HP 33s for non-engineers - bill platt - 05-03-2004

Hi Dave,

I am a little baffled--what is the difference between engineering and physics in regard to calculators? Is it which built-in constants are chosen?

What other features would be distinguishing?

Regards,

Bill

http://plattdesign.net

Edited: 3 May 2004, 3:27 p.m.

Re: HP 33s for non-engineers - Dave Shaffer (Arizona) - 05-03-2004

Dave,

Unless your instructors expect you to do a lot of calculator-based graphing, the 33S should be fine.

I teach physics (and astronomy) at our community college. In physics, we have both algebra/trig based courses and full-blown calculus-based courses. I use either a 32SII or a 42S for working out the homework questions that I assign, although most of my students have TIs or Casios.

Throughout my research and teaching career (some 35 years, going back to graduate student days), I've seldom felt the need for anything more powerful than that. I've had, and used extensively, first an HP35, and then HP-11 and HP-41CX. That was always enough hand-held power. For anything tougher, it was time to use the computer.

Best wishes for your career,

Dave

Re: HP 33s for non-engineers - Dave Olson - 05-03-2004