HP Forums
Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM (/thread-49481.html)



Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM - Karl-Ludwig Butte - 12-28-2003

There is a problem with the following code fragment:
<<
"Titel"
{
{ "Item 1 " "" 0. }
{ "Item 2 " "" 0. }
{ "Item 3 " "" 0. }
} { } DUP IVal "SVal1" "SVal2" 3. \->LIST INFORM
\>>

Althought the code doesn't produce an error message, the strings SVal1 and SVal2 are displayed in quotes as shown here:
Item 2 "SValue1"
Item 3 "SValue2"

Does somebody know how to avoid the quotes ? Any hint will be very much appriciated - thank you very much in advance.


Re: Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM - V-PN - 12-28-2003

Posted by Karl-Ludwig Butte on 28 Dec 2003, 4:45 a.m.

There is a problem with the following code fragment: << "Titel" { { "Item 1 " "" 0. } { "Item 2 " "" 0. } { "Item 3 " "" 0. } } { } DUP IVal "SVal1" "SVal2" 3. \->LIST INFORM \>>

Althought the code doesn't produce an error message, the strings SVal1 and SVal2 are displayed in quotes as shown here: Item 2 "SValue1" Item 3 "SValue2"

Does somebody know how to avoid the quotes ? Any hint will be very much appriciated - thank you very much in advance.

=========================================

Well - don't put them on quotas! What are you trying to do here? You may use STR-> to evaluate "SValn" or you may use the names in single quotas 'SValn'. [VPN]


Re: Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM - Karl-Ludwig Butte - 12-29-2003

Thank you very much for your response. Alas simply throwing away the quotes or using single quotes doesn't work (syntax error). These string variables really contain strings which I want to display. The program calculates the date for Easter-Sunday e.g. 11.04.2004 (German date format DD.MM.YYYY). So after the calculation I'm converting DD, MM and YYYY to strings and put them together with the dots (or slashes if American dateformat is selected). In another application I need to display a person's name so STR-> isn't an alternative.


Re: Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM - V-PN - 12-29-2003

"Thank you very much for your response. Alas simply throwing away the quotes or using single quotes doesn't work (syntax error). These string variables really contain strings which I want to display."

How about first recalling the strings from the variables in the stack (simply use unquoted names) and then assembling the list together via n ->LIST [VPN]


Re: Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM - Karl-Ludwig Butte - 12-30-2003

Hello,

I tried that out but the quotes are still there. I even tried to convert the string to a GROB but there's always a description (e.g. Graphic 24x8) in front of the converted text which is displayed in INFORM, too. I wonder how HP is displaying e.g. RPN in the MODE-menue without the qoutes.


Re: Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM - Raymond Del Tondo - 12-30-2003

Hi,

>>I wonder how HP is displaying e.g. RPN in the MODE-menue without the qoutes
>>

Maybe they use a message handler to cut away the quotes for display only. Message handlers are only available from SysRPL.

My suggestion: If you're using a 49G, use Steen Schmidt's Input Form Maker, if you're using a real HP-48, use my Input Form Builder. Both programs are available on hpcalc.org ,
and both are the easiest to use progs of their kind for their platform.

Regards,

Raymond


Re: Help needed for displaying strings with INFORM - Karl-Ludwig Butte - 01-02-2004

Thanks a lot Raymond for your response and hint. I'm going to try it out. I'm using a 48G, 49G and 49G+. I'll come back to you wit the results.

Regards

Karl