HP Forums
Thermal paper for HP printers - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Thermal paper for HP printers (/thread-3130.html)

Thermal paper for HP printers - Jan H. Bos - 01-02-2000

As almost everybody is low on thermal paper rolls, can there be an alternativ? Thermal fax paper works, but it does not come in the right reel size. Being a paper engineer, I might be able to solve this problem, but what are you guy's prepared to pay per roll?Regards, Jan

Re: Thermal paper for HP printers - Reinhard Hawel - 01-02-2000

I don't really understand what's the difference between the HP67/97s paper, fax paper and the newer 82240Bs paper.

Electrical resistance maybe ? Surely the chemicals used for the "thermal" side of the paper will be different somehow.

I don't know what I'd pay because I'd mainly need one package (maybe 6 rolls) for the collection.

I don't really use the old calcs for calculating (sorry collectors). I use a HP-48 for everyday use.

First it would be of interest how much paper would be needed, because you'd have to calculate a price. I believe this would be a better question.

I doubt the customers could really guess the price af such an article. I, coming from the electronics/communications business, couldn't even guess, if I knew the amount.

Calculate it for lets say 100, 500 and 1000 rolls and you will see for yourself how much it would cost and if it would pay for anyone. Price might be ok, when it's just "sawing" some larger rolls into pieces, it might not, if you need to develop some new chemicals to rebuild the thermal paper. You're the expert.

A price range would be o.k., I'd think.

Personally, I think this is a great idea. Thanks for the offer.