HP Forums
Scientific calculators - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Scientific calculators (/thread-2725.html)

Scientific calculators - Bill Holmes - 11-02-1999

Does HP have any plans to come out with a new scientific calculator? I want to replace my HP42s but the HP-32II’s keyboard looks overly complicated. Also, I have looked at the TI calculators and although I have been using HP calculators for 15 years, I am getting the impression that RPN is obsolete. Does anyone have an opinion?

Thank you

Re: Scientific calculators - Dave - 11-02-1999

RPN is still the easiest technique once mastered, but less of a value when you have a graphical big calc where the entire expression can be viewed.

RPN is best for a small form factor calc with primarily a stack or numerical display.

I think HP is still going to develop new calcs, but it may take a while for them to get back on the right track again after ceasing development for so many years. Hopefully they make one as powerful & useful as the 42S (unfortunately probably not this year....)

Re: Scientific calculators - RPN obsolete ? - no - Reinhard Hawel - 11-02-1999

RPN isn't obsolete as long as you (and other guys) use it.

I believe, it's the fastest method of entering short calculations and it's stack architecture (especially with an unlimited stack) allows for faster execution of programs (on a comparable machine). If you enter your expressions for example on a HP48 you'll even have a command stack (the whole expression lies on the stack then. This is a common practice for me. I enter the calculations in quptes with the space key between the operands and push enter twice when I'm finished.