![]() |
[HP-PIRME] BUG Pretty Print, Solution: abs => |...|, ABS => ||...|| - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum) +-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html) +--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html) +--- Thread: [HP-PIRME] BUG Pretty Print, Solution: abs => |...|, ABS => ||...|| (/thread-258538.html) |
[HP-PIRME] BUG Pretty Print, Solution: abs => |...|, ABS => ||...|| - CompSystems - 12-12-2013 Hi, in the new firmware version there is a new command abs() that is different ABS() v1:=[1,-2,3]; v1 .^ 2; => [ 1^2, (-2)^2, 3^2 ] => [ 1, 4, 9 ] // Super OK, power element by element dot( v1, v1 ); 1^2 + (-2)^2 + 3^2 => 14 // Super OK abs( v1 ); => [ 1, 4, 9 ] // Super OK, absolute value of each element ABS( v1 ); => SQROOT(14) // OK, now ABS() (CAPITAL) == NORM() Ans ENTRY from history to the input line => abs( v1 ) [BUG] should be in uppercase not lowercase IDEA: bug solution ABS(...) == ||..|| => double || why better not to create a new command (NORM)and thus avoid ambiguity ( abs with ABS, CAS version 1.1.0.27) NORM( v1 ); => || v1 || (show history) => SQROOT(14) // Super OK CAS version 1.1.1 =)
Edited: 13 Dec 2013, 9:50 a.m. after one or more responses were posted
Re: [HP-PIRME] BUG Pretty print abs => ||...||, ABS => |...| - Han - 12-12-2013 Quote:
It's not just abs() vs ABS(). There are many cases of two (slightly) different commands -- one of the form "command()" and the other of the form "COMMAND()". The best anyone can do at this moment is to wait for a much bigger firmware update that consolidates the command names into some sensible scheme.
Re: [HP-PIRME] BUG Pretty Print, Solution: abs => |...|, ABS => ||...|| - CompSystems - 12-13-2013 sorry google translator the problem reported is not on command (abs or ABS) the bug happens when an expression is carried from history to the input line, decodes bad BUG steps v1:=[1,-2,3]; abs( v1 ); => [ 1, 4, 9 ] // Super OK, absolute value of each element ABS( v1 ); => SQROOT(14) // OK, now ABS() (CAPITAL) == NORM() Ans ENTRY from history to the input line => abs( v1 ) [BUG] should be in uppercase not lowercase I think the only solution that ABS should be displayed in double vertical bar history purge(v1); abs( v1 ); => |v1| // OK ABS( v1 ); => ||v1|| // OK, no |v1|
Edited: 13 Dec 2013, 9:45 a.m.
|