HP Forums
ENG button (like Casio calculators) on HP Prime - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: ENG button (like Casio calculators) on HP Prime (/thread-254063.html)



ENG button (like Casio calculators) on HP Prime - uklo - 10-27-2013

Hello, i have always used Casio calculators now i bought the HP Prime & i have a simple question.

It is possible to change the number format (only the result) to engineering with one button?

I know it is possible to change the number format but it's tedious to change it entering to settings (i not always want the result in that way)


Thanks


Re: ENG button (like Casio calculators) on HP Prime - Michael de Estrada - 10-27-2013

You can write a short program to do this, using the reserved settings variable HFormat.


Re: ENG button (like Casio calculators) on HP Prime - uklo - 11-02-2013

Hello Michael, thanks for the answer.

I have done this:

EXPORT eng(X)

BEGIN

LOCAL ans;

ans:=X;

HFormat:=3;

RETURN ans;

END;

it works fine but i have two problems:

1.I want to assign it to a button, like to be at CAS mode, the touch button "simplif" to have a button "eng"... is that possible?

2. I don't want that it changes the mode which i'm working.

In order to do that i've tried to put a HFormat:=0; after the RETURN but that didn't work.

Thanks :)


Edited: 2 Nov 2013, 1:45 p.m.


Re: ENG button (like Casio calculators) on HP Prime - LHH - 11-04-2013

Maybe this could be added to the time/date/battery popup. Just noticed you can change the angle setting there (degrees or radians) via touching. I switch formats often going from scientific to financial and back again. Somewhat more tedious than it probably should be.

This is the original message:

http://www.hpmuseum.org/cgi-sys/cgiwrap/hpmuseum/archv021.cgi?read=254063#254063