HP Forums
[WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: [WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions (/thread-208849.html)



[WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions - Alexander Oestert - 01-10-2012

Seeing the V3 overlay reday to ship on Eric's site I actually have two questions before I'll buy them:

1) Is the V3 overlay final now?

2) Is the flashing process for V3 similar to the V2 process or does one have to do anything different?

Thanks in advance!

And a Happy New Year to all of you!


Re: [WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions - Marcus von Cube, Germany - 01-10-2012

There is a difference if you want to fill the library section with the initial flashing process. In fact it's much easier now. Just compile your programs with the new LIB tool into wp34s-lib.dat and then join calc.bin with this single file (copy/b calc.bin+wp34s-lib.dat calcfull.bin). The resulting file can then be sent to the calculator, preferably with MySamba.exe. There are .cmd files that help in the creation of the necessary files.

I don't think we will change the keyboard before V4 which will contain tagged registers so that the calculator knows what is stored there: single or double precision decimals, complex numbers, integers, matrix descriptors, or strings. With such a change, complex mode will have to change and we may introduce assignable keys in the same run. Maybe sometime before the next HHC...


Re: [WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions - Alexander Oestert - 01-10-2012

Thanks, Marcus. Please allow a follow-up:

a) If I don't want to join any own programs, I could simply flash the calc.bin in the known process, right?

b) V4? That makes me wanting to bail on V3 entirely and just use V2 until then...


Re: [WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions - Dominic Richens - 01-10-2012

Quote:
Thanks, Marcus. Please allow a follow-up:

a) If I don't want to join any own programs, I could simply flash the calc.bin in the known process, right?

b) V4? That makes me wanting to bail on V3 entirely and just use V2 until then...


a) right

b) oh no, Marcus has gone and pulled an "Osborne"


Re: [WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions - Paul Dale - 01-10-2012

Quote:
a) If I don't want to join any own programs, I could simply flash the calc.bin in the known process, right?

Yes.


Quote:
b) V4? That makes me wanting to bail on V3 entirely and just use V2 until then...

I wouldn't. We don't even know how we'll approach v4 yet, it is still a bit of a dream.

v3 is much nicer than v2 for programming and library management. For day to day use as an RPN scientific, there isn't much difference.

In fact v3 implements everything I wanted for the 42 replacement except typed values (and perhaps a few functions).


- Pauli


Re: [WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions - Alexander Oestert - 01-10-2012

Quote:
For day to day use as an RPN scientific, there isn't much difference.

Great! I will stay with the V2 on both my 20b and my 30b. ;-)


Re: [WP-34s] V3 overlay and flashing process - Questions - Marcus von Cube, Germany - 01-10-2012

END may be an issue as will be the modified handling of programs associated with this feature.

I like the V3 keyboard with SF/CF readily available. Being able to run longer programs by means of reducing the number of REGS, having local registers and flags, and so on, make V3 a better platform for programmers.