HP Forums
14b is not calculating PMT correctly - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: 14b is not calculating PMT correctly (/thread-207392.html)

14b is not calculating PMT correctly - Eric Peltier - 12-20-2011

14b is not calculating PMT correctly. I have a 14B 50th Aniv Edition. I am a mortgage professional, so, I calculate PMT quite a bit. It has suddenly started calculating PMT incorrectly. I have checked it against several sources. Any ideas why? Is there a setting that got messed up? Thanks in advance!

Re: 14b is not calculating PMT correctly - Raymond Del Tondo - 12-20-2011

Did you try again after a reset of the calc?

Re: 14b is not calculating PMT correctly - Geoff Quickfall - 12-20-2011

Not a finance guy, but doesn't the PMT depend on the payment schedule.

That is, is there a flag that toggles Canadian to American style, another that calculates end of payment period or beginning?

In other words, if it worked correctly out of the box, then try the reset suggested as this would reset all the applicable states.

Geoff

Re: 14b is not calculating PMT correctly - Eric Peltier - 12-20-2011

I'm not sure how to reset it. I took the batteries out for 10 minutes and that did not fix it.

I found instructions online on how to reset it. It did not help.

I agree, this may be part of the problem. But I do not have the instructions....

Re: 14b is not calculating PMT correctly - Jose Gonzalez Divasson - 12-20-2011

I was desperate with the same problem with my 12c - I wasn't able to reproduce my mortgage numbers froim the bank. At the end it was all about being in BEG mode instead of END!

In other models it may have to do with the number of oeriods per year.

Re: 14b is not calculating PMT correctly - Don Shepherd - 12-20-2011