HP Forums
need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... (/thread-193443.html)



need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - stacy_k - 09-07-2011

hello,

are the cables to reprogram the HP30b, still being distributed? (I need one...)

Is mr. gene wright still the source for them?

please help

thank you

(ps is there any description or schematic for what this cable is exactly, and how it works?)


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - M. Joury - 09-07-2011

Try sending Gene an email through the forum.


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - stacy_k - 09-07-2011

I tried to send him a mail but didn't get a response yet. Guess I'll wait a little bit more & maybe try again. thx


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Marcus von Cube, Germany - 09-07-2011

Quote:
ps is there any description or schematic for what this cable is exactly, and how it works?

I don't have a schematic bu I know what the cable does. :-)

It's a level shifter to adapt the 3V TTL level serial pins on the connector to valid RS232 levels suitable for a PC serial port. In addition it provides two buttons: a RESET button to reset the processor and an ERASE button which will erase the flash memory contents of the processor: Turn the calculator on, press and hold erase, press any key on the calculator.) Erasing the flash will make the SAM-BA boot loader active which will connect to the SAM-BA flashing utility.

With the WP 34S firmware installed, the cable can be used to exchange data between the calculator and an emulator on the PC.


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - stacy_k - 09-07-2011

OK
but there's no description anywhere, of what the guts of the cable actually are?


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Katie Wasserman - 09-07-2011

Here are all the details.


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Gene Wright - 09-07-2011

Hi. Don't think I ever got an email. Try again. :-)


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - stacy_k - 09-07-2011

thank you


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - stacy_k - 09-07-2011

Hi there
(sorry for being a n00b)
I tried again just now, did the mail make it to you?
thanks again
-stacy


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Gene Wright - 09-07-2011

Nope. Perhaps you have to associate an email with your user-name here for it to work?

I have had no problems getting emails from many other cable-seekers here, so something else must be happening.

Associate an email and let ME send an email your direction. Let's see if that will work.


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - stacy_k - 09-07-2011

Hello,

I had entered an email & marked it for public, but I guess that didn't work (? ?)

Anyhow I now entered my original email, that I used to register for the forum, and it should be public.

Did it work? It's srkmz[ @ ]sentex.net

-stacy


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Gerry Schultz - 09-07-2011

I assume that since there is an increased drain on the 30b's batteries when connected through the programming cable, that you would want to keep the connection time to a minimum?


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Dominic Richens - 09-07-2011

thanks! I've been looking for that.


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Marcus von Cube, Germany - 09-07-2011

Since the cable contains a level shifter which is fed by the 3V pads on the calculator sockets, it draws power from the coin cells. This is true even with the calculator turned off. I measured a current draw around 4 mA.


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Graham D. Wilson - 09-07-2011

Hi Gene

I'm also unable to send you emails through the forum.

To make contact, could I ask you to send me a message instead?

Ta
Graham


Re: need the reprogramming cable for the 30b... - Dan W - 09-07-2011

Hi Gene,

I've also tried to reach you thru the forum email without success. Wasn't sure if there was a problem, or your inbox was 500 deep.

At any rate I tweaked my e-mail options and I tried again. Let me know if you didn't get it.

thanks

-- Dan