HP Forums
50G Num solver data entry - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum)
+-- Forum: HP Museum Forums (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Old HP Forum Archives (https://archived.hpcalc.org/museumforum/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: 50G Num solver data entry (/thread-144356.html)

50G Num solver data entry - vq - 12-03-2008

I'm new to the 50G, so maybe a basic question.
How can I calculate the value to be entered in the Numeric solver input form (while the input form is active)? On Hp-35S EQN Solver, when prompted for a value, I can do my calculations to prepare the input value and ther press R/S to pass it to the solver. I want to do the same in 50G - how can it be done?
Also, what is the purpose of the 'ENTRY' command?-I tried it but with no reasonable outcome. I found nothing in the user's guide on this command.
Thanks in advance.

Re: 50G Num solver data entry - George Bailey (Bedford Falls) - 12-03-2008

When you're in NUM.SLV entering numeric values for the known variables, you have to enter calculations without pressing the ENTER key, because the ENTER key would interrupt the calculation and thus just ENTER the first value. To accomplish this you would proceed like so. Say, you have the equation x+5y=z, the entry form will look like this:

Eq: 'X+5*Y=Z'

X:

Y:

Z:

You now want to calculate the X entry from X=4*5. To do so you edit the X: field and write

X: 4 [SPC] 5 * [ENTER]

The [SPC] will separate the 4 and 5 like the [ENTER] key would do in a normal RPN calculation. The last [ENTER] will then complete the entry after calculating the result.

If you want to enter more complex stuff for the variables like SIN(.4) in algebraic or .4 SIN in RPN mode, you have to make sure that you switched to approximate mode before, or else you'll get an INVALID OBJECT TYPE error.

ENTRY is explained on page 1-6 of the "HP 49G+ Advanced User's Reference Manual"

Quote: